Signal strength change with repack?

Discussion in 'Over the Air TV By RabbitEars.Info' started by andy_horton, Oct 3, 2017.

  1. andy_horton

    andy_horton Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Posts:
    815
    Likes Received:
    117
    Location:
    Northwest Georgia
    I live in the Chattanooga TN market. Most channels are moving. Will this affect the signal strength? Only 1 channel is moving from UHF to VHF, all others being shuffled around in the UHF band. I have an outdoor antenna with a preamp. All local signals are moderate to strong being about 35 miles from most transmitters. Thanks
     
  2. Trip

    Trip RabbitEars Webmaster
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Posts:
    962
    Likes Received:
    422
    Location:
    Alexandria, VA, US
    Service is supposed to be "preserved" so, theoretically, strength should not decrease.

    The movement of WNGH from UHF to low-VHF may require a change in antenna, though.

    - Trip
     
    comfortably_numb and andy_horton like this.
  3. harshness

    harshness SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Posts:
    13,505
    Likes Received:
    1,336
    Location:
    Salem, OR
    FCC policy (nor the congressional mandates that drive it) is never going to have even the slightest impact on Physics.

    Going from 587MHz to 69MHz (a little over 8.5 times the wavelength) is a huge shift. There will likely be not only significant changes to the antenna itself but also a change in the elevation of the antenna. Changes in elevation sometimes mean a move to a different tower.
     
    andy_horton likes this.
  4. primestar31

    primestar31 SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Posts:
    6,377
    Likes Received:
    2,374
    Location:
    Beta Omicron Delta III
    Plus the OP might now need a honkin' BIG vhf antenna to pick up that channel. A little patch antenna won't do it.
     
  5. navychop

    navychop Member of the Month - July 2014!
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Posts:
    44,018
    Likes Received:
    9,168
    Location:
    Northern VA
    When growing up, rabbit ears worked just fine, as long as you attached a little boy to them.

    Hard to watch TV from the side.
     
    andy_horton and danristheman like this.
  6. boba

    boba SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2003
    Posts:
    11,096
    Likes Received:
    825
    Location:
    Dorchester, TX.
    Only time will tell. You will have to wait for transition to happen.
     
  7. primestar31

    primestar31 SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Posts:
    6,377
    Likes Received:
    2,374
    Location:
    Beta Omicron Delta III
    Yes, rabbit ear antennas still work, but analog broadcasts were watchable even if snowy. Digital signals aren't, because of the "digital cliff". OP said he's 35 miles away average for his local towers, so rabbit ear antenna may or may not work for him.
     
    andy_horton likes this.
  8. harshness

    harshness SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Posts:
    13,505
    Likes Received:
    1,336
    Location:
    Salem, OR
    Given the sardine packing treatment channels are getting in some areas, you may have to wait for all phases to complete before you can make the call as to whether the signal is "equivalent".

    Where I live the market centers are dozens of miles apart so adjacent market interdependence isn't much of an issue. There's either more than 100 miles or the Cascade Mountain Range separating markets.

    The big question in my mind is what happens to translators that get caught in the squeeze as translators are pretty important where the topography is interesting. Most of the documentation I've seen has been limited to the primary signals and hasn't talked about translators.
     
  9. harshness

    harshness SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Posts:
    13,505
    Likes Received:
    1,336
    Location:
    Salem, OR
    There's also the issue of combining your 300 ohm rabbit ears with your 75 ohm UHF antenna.
     
  10. Trip

    Trip RabbitEars Webmaster
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Posts:
    962
    Likes Received:
    422
    Location:
    Alexandria, VA, US
    I was, of course, referring to the OP's receive antenna. Obviously the transmit antenna would need to be replaced.

    - Trip
     
  11. andy_horton

    andy_horton Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Posts:
    815
    Likes Received:
    117
    Location:
    Northwest Georgia
    Luckily, I am able to receive WTCI Chattanooga PBS which will still be on UHF. WDEF is moving to 8, which I currently get all hi-VHF channels with an indoor flat amplified antenna. All UHF signals come from a UHF 4 bay Channel Master 10 ft up with a preamp. Currently I get all UHF channels reliably, although WDSI is the weakest. It seems to have the lowest power output according to tvfool. Most websites that calculate reception, (estimated I know) say it is out of range. But it is still reliable. WTCI is next lowest. WFLI actually is stronger. I talked with engineers before I put up my antenna and was told Lafayette GA is actually "up" a little higher than most areas around N GA so I should with a good preamp get most if not all Chattanooga stations, except the very low power stations. I could go all out and get an old fashioned VHF/UHF huge lots of elements antenna, but don't need the low powered stations.
     
    primestar31 likes this.
  12. LEEHRAT

    LEEHRAT New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    Posts:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do we know the dates when this will start?
     
  13. harshness

    harshness SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Posts:
    13,505
    Likes Received:
    1,336
    Location:
    Salem, OR
    The final RF channel assignments may not be ironed out until next year. The second and final round of "appeals" (the Second Filing Window") doesn't close until November 2nd and the FCC and the appellants will have to duke it out after that. With significant holidays in them, the last two months of the year are more like one business month at best.

    According to the most recent publicly available transition schedule, testing in Phase 1 begins testing in mid-September 2018 and is scheduled to be completed by the end of November 2018.

    Transition Schedule

    This repack is much different from the previous DTV repack as the channel pool is considerably shallower and there will be quite a few stations and/or subchannels that disappear locally from the airwaves due to an absence of bandwidth.
     
  14. andy_horton

    andy_horton Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Posts:
    815
    Likes Received:
    117
    Location:
    Northwest Georgia
    Just a thought on that last sentence..with some channels disappearing, mostly subs, for most major cable tv outfits the signals are brought in via underground fiber. Couldn't the cable companies seize that opportunity to advertise while some channels are disappearing OTA, they will remain on if you subscribe to their cable tv service, seeing as how customers already pay a broadcast tv fee?
     
  15. boba

    boba SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2003
    Posts:
    11,096
    Likes Received:
    825
    Location:
    Dorchester, TX.
    How good are you at telling the future? The answer is a year in the future, and involves Federal Regulations.
     
    andy_horton likes this.
  16. harshness

    harshness SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Posts:
    13,505
    Likes Received:
    1,336
    Location:
    Salem, OR
    That depends on how they're set for bandwidth. Some cable operations are struggling for bandwidth just as much or more than the broadcast stations. As they've turned over some of their bandwidth to phone service and security services and an increasing amount to broadband Internet, they're stuffed. And all of this while still slumming along with MPEG2 for their SD and HD video content delivery.

    Cable needs to get going on upgrading or they're going to become strictly broadband and that's not particularly efficient use of their bandwidth.
     
    andy_horton and jamesjimcie like this.

***

Separate names with a comma.

More...