Slingbox Now Compatable With WDTV Media Players

Discussion in 'DISH Network Support Forum' started by dfergie, Jun 6, 2012.

  1. dfergie

    dfergie Topic Starter Proud Staff Member Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Posts:
    90,668
    Likes Received:
    3,870
    Location:
    west of the pecos, between Otis and first contact
    For as long as we can remember, you needed a DVR of some sort (Tivo, TimeWaner DVR, Dish Network, etc) if you wanted to take advantage of SlingMedia’s Slingbox. You see, the Slingbox allows you to watch your recorded content from just about any where in the world, provided you’ve got another Slingbox on the receiving end, or if you’re running their Slingplayer application for iOS or Android. Well, today Sling extended their hardware compatiblity list to now include WD TV Media Players.

    Slingbox Now Compatible with WD TV Media Players | GadgetReview
     
  2. GaryPen

    GaryPen Rich or poor, it's good to have money. Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2004
    Posts:
    16,670
    Likes Received:
    602
    Location:
    I LIVE in California. I'm FROM Brooklyn.
    A. The article is wrong about needing a Slingbox on the receiving end. (Although, one could use the ill-fated SlingCatcher.)
    B. The article doesn't make clear if you can use the WDTV to view Sling streams, or if the Slingbox can control a WDTV as a source device.
     
  3. osu1991

    osu1991 SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2004
    Posts:
    9,454
    Likes Received:
    1,905
    Location:
    Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
    I saw this in the upgrade notes last night, but after updating one of my WDTV Live Hubs, I didn't see anything regarding Sling in any of the menus. I haven't turned my WDTV Live SMP on yet to check the update notes for it.
     
  4. robstudio

    robstudio SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Posts:
    207
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Cambridge, MA
    So far update is for Live Hub only. No update for live, as of yet. All articles say "WD streaming devices" No update through Live menu and online only has firmware for Live Hub... Figures... I'll put this pos back in the closet...
     
  5. robstudio

    robstudio SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Posts:
    207
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Cambridge, MA
    For real??? Holy... cue the Gongs, it's gonna be a gong show of an update....
    After all the trouble shooting I've done with this pos, I swore no more since getting an apple tv...
    Now I've wasted another 1/2 hour of my life on this, looking for firmware. :(
     
  6. osu1991

    osu1991 SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2004
    Posts:
    9,454
    Likes Received:
    1,905
    Location:
    Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
    Well I went in and updated my WDTV Live SMP and it shows the slingplayer under Live TV. I need to go put the stock theme back on the Hub. It may be the theme I am using on the Hub doesn't have the Live TV tab.
     
  7. osu1991

    osu1991 SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2004
    Posts:
    9,454
    Likes Received:
    1,905
    Location:
    Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
    There is an update for the Live. I have the latest wifi streaming model of the Live not the older Live and Live Plus.
     
  8. robstudio

    robstudio SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Posts:
    207
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Cambridge, MA
    Mine's the 'older' version... junk...
    Tired of companies that release junk with sh!tty / no software...
    Ever try playing an aif file on one of these? White static noise between audio tracks... has never been fixed, despite them falsely advertising that the units will play aif files. I'll never purchase another WD pos product... thought the sling might be somewhat of a saviour. Again WD, not quite what it's hyped up to be.
     
  9. robstudio

    robstudio SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Posts:
    207
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Cambridge, MA
    I don't see an update for any live devices on their website... have a link????
     
  10. dfergie

    dfergie Topic Starter Proud Staff Member Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Posts:
    90,668
    Likes Received:
    3,870
    Location:
    west of the pecos, between Otis and first contact
    I still use my WDTV (non live) sometimes, I like my Popcorn Hour better but I know the WDTV's limitations...
     
  11. osu1991

    osu1991 SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2004
    Posts:
    9,454
    Likes Received:
    1,905
    Location:
    Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
    WD Product Update
     
  12. robstudio

    robstudio SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Posts:
    207
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Cambridge, MA
    linky no worky... may not be allowed here???
    But thanks anyway !

    Whoops sorry, it works.. checking it out. Thanks!!!

    Noppee for me... download is for gen3 only.

    Thanks WD... not...
     
  13. osu1991

    osu1991 SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2004
    Posts:
    9,454
    Likes Received:
    1,905
    Location:
    Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
    I rip most of my music to the highest quality mp3. That is all I really need. Video is why the Live Hub and Live SMP are great for me. They play all my avi, mkv, mp4 files.
     
  14. GaryPen

    GaryPen Rich or poor, it's good to have money. Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2004
    Posts:
    16,670
    Likes Received:
    602
    Location:
    I LIVE in California. I'm FROM Brooklyn.
    Does this WD Slingplayer app work with all gens of Slingbox, or just the AV and HD models like the web app? I've got a SB Solo in Japan I would love to get running on the TV instead of just a PC/Mac.
     
  15. dfergie

    dfergie Topic Starter Proud Staff Member Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Posts:
    90,668
    Likes Received:
    3,870
    Location:
    west of the pecos, between Otis and first contact
    I bought my earlier gen box for the above reasons & for my Hauppauge files... couldn't sling if I wanted to even with the right box as my IP is too slow (in the country)...
     
  16. robstudio

    robstudio SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Posts:
    207
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Cambridge, MA
    Yeah.. I'm a recording engineer... I cannot listen to compressed audio with my system(s). I'm ultra picky... lol... I love my apple tv, use it more for tunes than anything else. Together with remote app on ipod/phone ... it's da shnizzle for digital music. Plays my 24 bit aif from vinyl files as well.
     
  17. GaryPen

    GaryPen Rich or poor, it's good to have money. Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2004
    Posts:
    16,670
    Likes Received:
    602
    Location:
    I LIVE in California. I'm FROM Brooklyn.
    Yeah. Those 320kb/48KHz MP3 files sure sound like crap. How can people listen to such garbage? I guess they don't have that finely tuned set of ears like yours that can surely tell the difference between that and an AIFF in a blind taste test.
     
  18. dfergie

    dfergie Topic Starter Proud Staff Member Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Posts:
    90,668
    Likes Received:
    3,870
    Location:
    west of the pecos, between Otis and first contact
    Converting my LP's to .WAV to listen to from flash drives in my Escape (I can tell the AQ difference), need to bring one in to try on either the WD or Popcorn boxes...
     
  19. osu1991

    osu1991 SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2004
    Posts:
    9,454
    Likes Received:
    1,905
    Location:
    Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
    I just don't listen to music at home to bother with it. In the car and while I am working out is about it, other than at Christmas. Now at Christmas I will have music pumping throughout the house, but even that doesn't demand studio quality. I can tell the difference, but I can live with it. My step sister on the other hand is a musician and music teacher, gripes at me for spending as much as I have for my 3 systems only to play movies through them.
     
  20. robstudio

    robstudio SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Posts:
    207
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Cambridge, MA
    Ahh yes I can... mp3 at any bit rate destroys the 'depth' of the music.
    I won't make any further assumptions about you, despite your challenge. You don't think there is a difference, good enough for you then.
     

Separate names with a comma.

More...