Smallest C-Band dish capable of receiving Intelsat 34?

Discussion in 'C-BAND Satellite Discussion' started by sabustapes, Aug 24, 2019.

  1. sabustapes

    sabustapes Topic Starter New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2019
    Posts:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    yonkers, ny
    Hi everyone!

    New to the forum and satellites in general so bear with me [​IMG]

    I would like to get a satellite for picking up Intelsat 34 55.5w.

    Could you guys possibly help guide me into what my smallest option would be? I would prefer not to have to get a 10 foot dish if possible.

    I was looking at maybe:

    1) 180cm (6ft) C/Ku-Band Prime Focus Mesh Satellite Dish at Tek2000

    or

    2) GEO SAT PRO 1.2 Meter Satellite Dish w/ some kind of conical sealer ring for c-band?

    No idea if I am on the right track or if there's a much better option. I'd just hate to buy this without a good idea if it will work.

    If it helps, I am located in Westchester, NY just north of NYC.

    Again, forgive my lack of knowledge!

    Thank you in advance!
     
  2. FTA4PA

    FTA4PA Satellite Guys Family Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2013
    Posts:
    3,649
    Likes Received:
    1,648
    Location:
    Central Pennsylvania
    Welcome to Satellite Guys sabustapes! I have not tuned this in a while but I can say that I used to get it reliably here in Central PA on an eight foot mesh dish from Tek2000. Satbeams shows us to be in the same part of the beam so your reception should be similar to mine.

    Satbeams - World Of Satellites at your fingertips

    I thought I saw a post where someone had used a six foot solid instead of a mesh dish but can't seem to find it now. Perhaps a member who is using a six foot will comment and confirm reception/location in footprint. :)
     
  3. babnmn

    babnmn SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Posts:
    74
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    Arizona
    The fourth of our Intelsat EpicNG next-generation high throughput satellites, Intelsat 35e delivers high performance
    services in C- and Ku-bands. Its unique payload of C-band wide- and spot-beams enables higher efficiency and improved
    throughput for demanding applications including wireless backhaul, enterprise and mobility services in regions where
    weather patterns necessitate use of highly reliable C-band spectrum. The Intelsat 35e Ku-band services include a
    customized high power wide beam for DTH service delivery in the Caribbean, as well as services for mobility and
    government applications in the Caribbean, trans-Europe to Africa and the African continent.

    C-band Key Parameters
    Configurable Capacity:
    112 (in equivalent 36 MHz units)
    Polarization:
    Circular – Right or Left Hand
    Typical Coverage e.i.r.p. Range:
    Spots: 42.6 up to 54.6 dBW
    Global: 33.6 up to 37.1 dBW
    Typical G/T Range:
    Spots: 3.6 up to 12.6 dB/K
    Global: -8.0 up to -4.5 dB/

    Ku-band Key Parameters
    Configurable Capacity:
    39 (in equivalent 36 MHz units)
    Polarization:
    Linear – Horizontal or Vertical
    Downlink Frequency:
    10.95 to 11.20 GHz and
    11.45 to 11.70 GHz
    Typical Edge of Coverage e.i.r.p.:
    Caribbean: > 47.4 dBW
    Europe/Med.: > 45.4 dBW
    Africa/Europe: > 47.1 dBW
    Uplink Frequency:
    13.75 to 14.50 GHz
    Beam Peak G/T:
    Caribbean: up to 10.6 dB/K
    Europe/Med.: up to 11.3 dB/K
    Africa/Europe: up to 5.1 dB/K
     
  4. babnmn

    babnmn SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Posts:
    74
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    Arizona
  5. primestar31

    primestar31 SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Posts:
    8,278
    Likes Received:
    4,541
    Location:
    Beta Omicron Delta III
    I have a SAMI 7.5ft dish with a Titanium C-band PLL lnbf on it, and I have no problems receiving it in the mid-Michigan area.

    Now, that all being said, a 10 footer is better, and you might get enthused enough that you'll want to receive things that are best done on a 10ft dish...
     
    comfortably_numb likes this.
  6. VictoriaFTA

    VictoriaFTA SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2018
    Posts:
    108
    Likes Received:
    117
    Location:
    Midwest
    What are you trying to receive on 55W? Some tps are stronger than others

    CGTN mux might be receivable on a 6 footer, it's pretty strong

    I'd advise at least 8 feet if you want all transponders on the sat
     
  7. sabustapes

    sabustapes Topic Starter New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2019
    Posts:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    yonkers, ny
    I'm just looking to get this:

    55.5° W
    Galaxy 11/Intelsat 805
    3962 H
    DVB-S2
    (8PSK)
    6600-3/4
    WWE Feed
    Specialty
    6.0-MPEG4
    1080-HDTV
    FTA
    2
    200
    4:2:0
    201 -(English)
    United States
    North America
    70 %
    (2.4m dish)
    7.9

    Satellite Charts - Search
     
  8. FTA4PA

    FTA4PA Satellite Guys Family Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2013
    Posts:
    3,649
    Likes Received:
    1,648
    Location:
    Central Pennsylvania
    I just bumped my 10ft SAMI over to 55.5W and I am not getting anything on that frequency/polarization/symbol rate. I see that it was originally posted on TVROSAT over two years ago. Either it is not up 24/7 or perhaps it is not there anymore. :(
     
  9. VictoriaFTA

    VictoriaFTA SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2018
    Posts:
    108
    Likes Received:
    117
    Location:
    Midwest
    That is where they backhaul the international feed of RAW/Smackdown on Mondays & Tuesdays

    The quality is poor compared to their domestic backhaul on 87W/95W/99W (it varies which sat they use each week but they usually use 95W) but I'm sure the quality is acceptable to most since it's ITC

    I'll check it out on Monday and see what signal I get on my dish
     
    k.r., comfortably_numb and FTA4PA like this.
  10. etlam34

    etlam34 SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2017
    Posts:
    83
    Likes Received:
    90
    Location:
    Quebec city
    Last week
    I scanned it in as “globecast” with my 6 foot solid dish + titanium c band lnb. Located in quebec city, canada
     
    raydio and FTA4PA like this.
  11. Brct203

    Brct203 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2016
    Posts:
    883
    Likes Received:
    849
    Location:
    Connecticut
    Hi Sabustapes

    that specific WWE feed might be a bit challenging as it's 8PSK. This said, Int 34 is quite strong in our area (I'm near Danbury CT). I have a friend in Shelton CT who watches RTP on that satellite with a 6ft Winegard dish. But the thing is that are many variables, some channels have stronger signal than others, the modulation and FEC play a big role too.

    so my answer to your questions would be:
    1.8 meter - maybe - just maybe
    1.2 meter - almost certainly not, at least not reliably

    Also a 1.2 meter would probably get some interference from 58W (smaller dishes are less "focused" on their target and it's worse in C-Band than in Ku-Band)
     
  12. sabustapes

    sabustapes Topic Starter New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2019
    Posts:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    yonkers, ny
    Thank you all for the responses.

    I think I'm not going to take the risk on the 6ft and will instead look at the 8ft.

    Would the Tek2000 "240cm (8ft) C/Ku-Band Prime Focus Mesh Satellite Dish" @ $1,500 total with add-ons and shipping be my best bet for value for the money? Any other options I should consider?
     
  13. FTA4PA

    FTA4PA Satellite Guys Family Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2013
    Posts:
    3,649
    Likes Received:
    1,648
    Location:
    Central Pennsylvania
    The best option would be if you could find an older used dish in your area for free or cheap. It will be made better than the imported dishes. :) But yes, if you need to buy one then you will likely not find a better price as the other option would probably be commercial dishes that will be several thousand dollars. :eek:

    Which options were you getting that bring the total to $1500? I see the base price for the dish is now $599. Wow, I think I paid about $300 when they first came out. :(

    EDIT: Just checked my records and it (dish with polar mount) was $425 with shipping.
     
    #13 FTA4PA, Aug 26, 2019
    Last edited: Aug 26, 2019
  14. sabustapes

    sabustapes Topic Starter New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2019
    Posts:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    yonkers, ny
    I'm going to keep an eye on Craigslist for the next few weeks and see if anything pops up.

    These are the options I picked, honestly not sure if I need all of this?

    Edision OS mio 4K UHD
    $189.00

    50ft Coaxial Cable (Low Loss RG11)
    $50.00

    50ft Positioner Cable (16 AWG)
    $40.00

    SuperJack C-Band Dish Positioner
    $115.00

    30-inch HARL Regular-Duty Linear SuperJack Actuator
    $129.00

    Linear C-Band Dual Output (Wimax) LNBF
    $49.00

    4ft C-Band Dish Pole (In Ground)
    $159.00

    240cm (8ft) C/Ku-Band Prime Focus Mesh Satellite Dish
    $469.00
     
  15. FTA4PA

    FTA4PA Satellite Guys Family Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2013
    Posts:
    3,649
    Likes Received:
    1,648
    Location:
    Central Pennsylvania
    Wow, certainly adds up quickly doesn't it? Personally, I would get the Edision Mio 4K from Titanium Satellite. It is $14 less, ships free and you will get excellent customer support if you run into any issues. I would also suggest substituting an ASC1 mover in place of the SuperJack VBox positioner. The latest VBox models were having quality control issues. This may have been resolved but I would not take the chance. The ASC1 is heavy-duty and built to last. They are $180 but you can get an open-box unit from him that will still be guaranteed for $135. As of posting this he has 4 in stock. :)

    Titanium Satellite - Store

    Titanium Satellite - Store
     
    Titanium, danristheman and norman881 like this.
  16. primestar31

    primestar31 SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Posts:
    8,278
    Likes Received:
    4,541
    Location:
    Beta Omicron Delta III
    I second buying the MIO and ASC1 mover from Titanium Satellite. Likely better support for the MIO, and better quality for the ASC1 mover (along with support). You also do NOT need Rg-11 cable for only 50ft. Go with a quad-shield full copper RG-6 (good for up to 250 - 300ft at least). If you look around, you can likely buy an entire 500ft (500)! roll for the same price. Then you can run spares out to the dish, in case you want to easily change options, etc. Believe me, you do need (want) spare coax runs!
     
  17. primestar31

    primestar31 SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Posts:
    8,278
    Likes Received:
    4,541
    Location:
    Beta Omicron Delta III
    Oh, and if you are on Facebook, check Facebook Marketplace for used dishes. There's usually plenty available all over your area! You likely can find a usable dish for much less money. IMO, do NOT pay more than $100~ or so for a 10ft dish. IF you find a pristine or near pristine one with good actuator and such, you can always consider spending a bit more.

    P.S. Do NOT mention a price FIRST. Do anything you can when talking to the seller to lead HIM into throwing out a price. Then you'll find out how serious he really is. Anything crazy, don't say a word, just start walking away while shaking your head. Sometimes that does wonders in turning around crazy expectations of recovering the money they spent 30 years ago for the dish!
     
    FTA4PA likes this.
  18. FTA4PA

    FTA4PA Satellite Guys Family Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2013
    Posts:
    3,649
    Likes Received:
    1,648
    Location:
    Central Pennsylvania
    Good catch - I didn't even notice he was pricing RG11 instead of RG6. :rolleyes:
     
    primestar31 likes this.
  19. Brct203

    Brct203 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2016
    Posts:
    883
    Likes Received:
    849
    Location:
    Connecticut
    also, the positioner cable might not be the best choice.. I might be mistaken but I think that when I had looked into it, it was 4 wires within a shield. That would not be good as you need the motor wires to be outside of the shield. The main reason for having the shield is to avoid interference on the sensor wires as they could mess up the pulse count. A big source of such interference would be the motor wires. What most of us use is low-voltage 12 or 14 AWG wiring like landscape wiring, and shielded alarm cable. Easy to find at the big chain hardware stores or online.

    For the LNBF, my choice would be the Titanium PLL LNBFs
     
    Titanium likes this.
  20. Martyn

    Martyn SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2005
    Posts:
    577
    Likes Received:
    194
    Location:
    Concord, CA

Separate names with a comma.

More...