Tailgating setup

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE
Status
Please reply by conversation.

GoBoy

Original poster
Jul 3, 2012
Texas
I'm sorry to be jumping in & I hope you will forgive me, I don't know if I'm in the right place or not. I'm new to the Form & I've been doing a lot of reading here, trying to understand and the more I read the more confused I get!! I just want to set-up a simple tailgating system, using my D12 rec. with my 18" dish (dual LNB). I connected a simple Satellite Finder in line but can't get to work!! I understand I need a "Power Inserter" or something to feed the LNB, OK but what size (??) and who carries them (??). How do I find out what SWM I have or using (??)
As you can see, I'm WAY OVER MY HEAD on this (from what everybody has been telling me is so simple). I'm sorry but I just don't know what or where to start.
Thank you for any advise you guy's can provide (except for putting a gun to my head).

:welcome to Satelliteguys!

First, take a deep breath! :)

An 18" dish with a dual lnb isn't a swm type so you don't need a power inserter. Just connect a cable from the lnb to the D12. Use the menu to find the right elevation, skew (tilt), and azimuth (compass direction). When you get the dish pointed close, you should show some signal. By moving the dish slowing to allow the receiver to register the changes, you should get the signal strengths in the 90s or so. Good luck, and don't be afraid to come back and ask more questions!

Thanks so much, I just did what you said but, I get a 771 code???
I can't get the "Menu" to come up on the TV.