The GENIE 2

Discussion in 'DIRECTV Support Forum' started by Andrew Sullivan, Dec 6, 2017.

  1. Andrew Sullivan

    Andrew Sullivan Topic Starter Well-Known SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2017
    Posts:
    31
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Arizona
    I am having the Genie 2 installed on Saturday December, 9. What is the general consensus here on the Genie 2? Any noticeable improvements from the HR-54 it will be replacing? I am being told that the Genie 2 will fix the pixelation issue. Are there any internal upgrades that might provide better PQ?
     
  2. IcEWoLF

    IcEWoLF SatelliteGuys Master
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Posts:
    6,979
    Likes Received:
    3,486
    Location:
    Nevada
    Honestly I don't think the Genie 2 will provide better PQ,from what I heart the Genie 2 improves the performance of the genie minis (c61k).
    I have the HR54 with a c61k and its been solid and responsive. The only downside is I might have to get another C61k later because I have two 4K tvs and only have 1 C61k.

    Most of the 4K stuff I watch are on BD anyways, and right now DirecTV just doesn't offer enough 4K content for me to consider getting another mini. At least not until sometimes next year.
     
  3. mdram

    mdram SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Posts:
    3,494
    Likes Received:
    471
    Location:
    Md
    if you have any other receiver or dvrs its a downgrade
     
  4. robjlevin

    robjlevin SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Posts:
    518
    Likes Received:
    77
    Location:
    New Jersey
    I have one here and with the latest firmware/guide and wired C61Ks everything is fine.

    There is no reason you can't get the C61K now and add the TV later. That's what I did in August and didn't add the second 4K TV until two weeks ago.
     
  5. Jimbo

    Jimbo SatelliteGuys Master
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    Posts:
    58,352
    Likes Received:
    1,794
    Location:
    NW Ohio - Buckeye Country
    There was a time when they couldn't do that (not allowed).
     
  6. K9SAT

    K9SAT SatelliteGuys Master
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
    Posts:
    14,288
    Likes Received:
    398
    Location:
    -.-. .... .. -.-. .- --. ---
    Honestly, I don't think it is now. I have had my genie 2 for about 6 months and haven't had any issues with it. It's like any other TV location. I'm running 2 wireless clients, 3 Samsung RVU 4K Tv's, and a c61K off of my genie 2.
     
  7. mdram

    mdram SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Posts:
    3,494
    Likes Received:
    471
    Location:
    Md
    it depends on how much you record, and how many tvs are in use at one time
    with a genie and hr24, i have 150 timers available. no need to manage them between seasons.
    if i dropped back to 100, i would have to add and delete things for the summer/fall/winter sereies.

    having 6 tvs use the 7 tuners, you could run into an issue with only 1 spare tuner

    so to me thats a downgrade
     
  8. Claude Greiner

    Claude Greiner SatelliteGuys Master
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Posts:
    10,637
    Likes Received:
    1,893
    Location:
    Detroit - The Paris of the Midwest
    If you don’t have or care for any more HR24’s then go for it
     
  9. robjlevin

    robjlevin SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Posts:
    518
    Likes Received:
    77
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Yes, back in the olden days. :)

    Seriously, though, when I went to the HS17 in August all I did was ask for two of the wired 4K clients and there were no issues at all even though I only had one 4K TV.
     
  10. xterra

    xterra SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Posts:
    253
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Sparty Land!
    The new Genie 2 sucks. PQ not as good, changing channels takes forever, menu not as good either. Now I know why they wanted to give me a free upgrade...:coco
     
  11. Hideftv

    Hideftv SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
    Posts:
    73
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    WV
    I have had a HS-17 for almost two months. It replaced a HR54. I have not had any problems at all with it including speed and response.
     
  12. royrdsjr

    royrdsjr SatelliteGuys Master
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Posts:
    13,574
    Likes Received:
    2,457
    Location:
    Grovetown,GA
    Since all of your TV's have to have clients attached to them with the HS-17, or be RVU ready, what is the latency like compared to having the old receivers/dvr's hooked up to them?
     
  13. Andrew Sullivan

    Andrew Sullivan Topic Starter Well-Known SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2017
    Posts:
    31
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Arizona
    The 17 was installed Saturday morning so I have had 4 days to live with it. I see no difference in PQ compared to the 54. Both were slow to change channels which the tech agreed with. The pixelation is no better with the 17.
    It's been several years since I hooked up my TV to my indoor antenna but the week I spent with no DirecTV I decided to hook it up to watch my local channels. Holy crap. The increase in PQ over the DirecTV feed was like a slap in the face. I did not remember the difference being that dramatic.
     
  14. robjlevin

    robjlevin SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Posts:
    518
    Likes Received:
    77
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Something's not right somewhere. I'm not seeing any problems here and I've had the HS17 since August.
     
  15. vazhog

    vazhog SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2014
    Posts:
    230
    Likes Received:
    76
    Location:
    United States
    For ME- The Genie 2 is NOT something for me at this time - being a Long time D* Sub it has NO value for me - BUT for NEW Customers They would NOT really know what any difference is.

    If you have one and Like it -That's Great- If you have one and Hate it at this time you can still get it replaced with a HR54 if you Hollar enough! -as we race futher into the future that option will NOT be possible due to aged equipment.

    I like the New GUI - I also have enough of the old junk that will never be upgraded to it
     
    Jimbo likes this.
  16. xterra

    xterra SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Posts:
    253
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Sparty Land!
    I'm getting use to it but it is slow compared to my HR54. I should of researched the Genie 2 before I got it. :cool:
     
  17. vazhog

    vazhog SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2014
    Posts:
    230
    Likes Received:
    76
    Location:
    United States
    Do you have Native Set to "ON" - looks like you do - Set it to off an that should speed things up a bit.
     
  18. xterra

    xterra SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Posts:
    253
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Sparty Land!
    Just checked and native is set to off. What does that do?
     
  19. vazhog

    vazhog SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2014
    Posts:
    230
    Likes Received:
    76
    Location:
    United States
    When set to on- It changes (handshakes) to the correct format that is broadcast - 720p or 1080i or 1080P or 4K - That will cause the screen to go blank while the signal is diag then displayed.

    DO you have a AVR? in the mix? using that "upscaling" can cause it also .

    Since you have a HS-17 and it is NOT directly Connected to the display - The delay may be just -local coax (moco) delay.
     
  20. dishman1

    dishman1 Well-Known SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2009
    Posts:
    33
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    North Texas
    I am impressed with the Genie2 since the new firmware was installed early Tuesday morning and resetting all of devices everything has been working great no problems here!!!
     

***

Separate names with a comma.

More...