Troubleshooting question - Fortec Lifetime

Status
Please reply by conversation.

alteng

Well-Known SatelliteGuys Member
Original poster
Oct 15, 2007
I have a Fortec Lifetime Classic NA that I've had for several months and it worked fine until recently. It appears to now have a problem and I have a troubleshooting question since I'm fairly new to FTA. I've tried it on 2 - 30" dishes that were working fine on 87W and 129W. During troubleshooting I've tried both dishes (individually), and even realigned both to multiple birds for the tests. I'm doing a full power scan with networks, and I get similar results every time. That is, during (full power) scanning the receiver appears to lock onto multiple transponders/channels and they show up in the window on the left. At the end of the scan however, no transponders/channels are saved and I get a message to that effect. I've done this with at least 4 different birds using 2 dishes, each with dual LNBs (that were working fine until recently), and the results are always that no channels/transponders are shown at the end of the scan. They only appear during the scanning process and then disappear (I do get multiple locks over 65% ). I'm left with a blank channel menu at the end. BTW, I've tried using spare DISEqC (4-in-one) switches, bypassing the switches (going direct), and hooking up directly at the dish with a short RG-6 test cable. Nothing changes. I suspect a hardware problem in the receiver. My question is this; with so many "lock-ons" during the full power scan (w/networks), wouldn't I normally get at least something - even if the transponder, rates, etc were set incorrectly "up top"? I need to be sure that I'm not missing something obvious before I send it in for warranty work. Feedback appreciated.