two poles question for dish mounting.

Status
Please reply by conversation.

neftv

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Dec 9, 2005
PA USA
Presently I have a 12ft pole (3" diameter) 4' is in the ground with cement around the pole about 2 feet around. On the top I have a Channel Master 1.2 meter fixed on NSS806. Now I have a 3 foot shelf (supported to the pole with u bolts and angle iron) about 3 feet below the top of the pole that is holding my other FTA 30" dish and Dish 500 that I have. In addition to this I have a wall mounted ex-starband dish used for Dish at 61.5. I would like to consolidate these dishes on one 2 3/8 diameter 10 ft pole that I acquired. I was thinking of using u bolts with angle iron to fasten the new pole to the existing one at 3 points and having it elevated two feet higher over the Channel master and perhaps standing it off from the old pole like 1 foot. I hope this makes sense to someone that can tell me if this weight of the new pole might cause to much stress on the main pole the 3" diameter even though its 4 ft in the ground. The new pipe 2 3/8" diameter is iron too. Thoughts?
I would rather not have to sink the new pole in the ground I like to try to use the height for this one to maybe one day have a 1 meter ku dish on the top of the new pole that would be steerable.
Thanks.

I don't think the weight of the new pole and 1 new small dish would cause any problems. I'm not an engineer but I have quite a bit of experience working with steel fabricating on heavy duty equipment.

the wobble factor

I just spent a few minutes revisiting the mounting. If I side mount and elevate the new pole to the pole in the ground, the pole in the ground will wobble alot in the wind or whatever. And that has to cause stress in the iron.