WGN-HD: Chicago White Sox vs Kansas City Royals 6pm EST

V

Videofx

Thread Starter
SatelliteGuys Pro
Mar 10, 2004
242
0
Starting today a Chicago 1st! On WGN Channel 9 Chicago EVERY Chicago Cubs, White Sox and Bulls home game will be broadcast in glorious HDTV.

The Cubs home opener is today and cant wait to see it in HDTV!!!

Just thought I'd let everyone know. :D

Bill
 
S

Sean Mota

SatelliteGuys Master
Supporting Founder
Sep 8, 2003
19,039
1,738
New York City
Man, I envy you. I wish my locals would the same here but no everyone has their own interest.
 
O

omard.

SatelliteGuys Pro
Supporting Founder
Dec 16, 2003
177
0
Berwyn, Illinois
This is the schedule for the Cubs game in HD which starts on the 13th of April

Date Game Time (CT) Station HDTV

Mon 04/12/04 vs. Pittsburgh* 1:00 p.m. WGN Yes
Thu 04/15/04 vs. Pittsburgh* 1:00 p.m. WGN Yes
Fri 04/16/04 vs. Cincinnati* 2:00 p.m. WGN Yes
Sat 04/17/04 vs. Cincinnati* 1:00 p.m. WGN Yes
Mon 04/19/04 vs. Cincinnati* 1:00 p.m. WGN Yes
Fri 04/23/04 vs. NY Mets* 2:00 p.m. WGN Yes
Sun 04/25/04 vs. NY Mets* 1:00 p.m. WGN Yes
Thu 05/06/04 vs. Arizona* 1:00 p.m. WGN Yes
Sat 05/08/04 vs. Colorado* 1:00 p.m. WGN Yes
Sun 05/09/04 vs. Colorado* 1:00 p.m. WGN Yes
Fri 05/21/04 vs. St. Louis* 2:00 p.m. WGN Yes
Mon 05/31/04 vs. Houston 3:00 p.m. WGN Yes
Fri 06/04/04 vs. Pittsburgh* 2:00 p.m. WGN Yes
Sat 06/05/04 vs. Pittsburgh 12:00 p.m. WGN Yes
Sun 06/06/04 vs. Pittsburgh* 1:00 p.m. WGN Yes
Mon 06/07/04 vs. St. Louis 7:00 p.m. WGN Yes
Thu 06/10/04 vs. St. Louis* 1:00 p.m. WGN Yes
Fri 06/18/04 vs. Oakland* 2:00 p.m. WGN Yes
Sun 06/20/04 vs. Oakland* 1:00 p.m. WGN Yes
Tue 06/29/04 vs. Houston 7:00 p.m. WGN Yes
Thu 07/01/04 vs. Houston* 1:00 p.m. WGN Yes
Thu 07/15/04 vs. Milwaukee 7:00 p.m. WGN Yes
Sun 07/18/04 vs. Milwaukee* 1:00 p.m. WGN Yes
Tue 07/20/04 vs. St. Louis* 1:00 p.m. WGN Yes
Thu 07/22/04 vs. Cincinnati* 1:00 p.m. WGN Yes
Sun 08/01/04 vs. Philadelphia TBD WGN Yes
Thu 08/12/04 vs. San Diego* 1:00 p.m. WGN Yes
Sun 08/15/04 vs. Los Angeles* 1:00 p.m. WGN Yes
Tue 08/24/04 vs. Milwaukee 7:00 p.m. WGN Yes
Fri 08/27/04 vs. Houston* 2:00 p.m. WGN Yes
Sun 08/29/04 vs. Houston TBD WGN Yes
Sat 09/11/04 vs. Florida* 1:00 p.m. WGN Yes
Sun 09/12/04 vs. Florida* 1:00 p.m. WGN Yes
Tue 09/14/04 vs. Pittsburgh 7:00 p.m. WGN Yes
Wed 09/15/04 vs. Pittsburgh* 1:00 p.m. WGN Yes
Wed 09/29/04 vs. Cincinnati* 1:00 p.m. WGN Yes
Fri 10/01/04 vs. Atlanta* 2:00 p.m. WGN Yes
Sun 10/03/04 vs. Atlanta* 1:00 p.m. WGN Yes

*Pre-game show "Lead-Off Man"
**Pre-season games
 
S

Sean Mota

SatelliteGuys Master
Supporting Founder
Sep 8, 2003
19,039
1,738
New York City
Thanks. I will add them to the HDTV daily listing with a footnote that they will be available to chicago area.
 
A

astrossuperfan

Baseball Junkie
Supporting Founder
Mar 30, 2004
239
0
H-town, Tejas
Cubs games? who cares? ;)

When is Voom getting Fox Sports HD so I can see my Astros in HDTV? That's the question we should be concerned with! :D
 
squicken

squicken

Member
Supporting Founder
Mar 24, 2004
1,046
0
Yeah, Astros fan. I think I'll hold my breath while Drayton McClane gets behind such a good idea.
 
O

omard.

SatelliteGuys Pro
Supporting Founder
Dec 16, 2003
177
0
Berwyn, Illinois
If the Astros were worth anything then your local station would have them in HD like they do with the Cubs in Chicago.
 
A

astrossuperfan

Baseball Junkie
Supporting Founder
Mar 30, 2004
239
0
H-town, Tejas
So, to make sure I get this right... The Cubs games will be broadcast in 1080i up until about the 7th or 8th inning, when some goat will bump the tower and send it to 480p? Don't things like this happen in Chicago all the time? :D

In all seriousness though: More baseball in HD is a good thing. I'm just jealous because my 'stros aren't in HD. :no
 
J

jeeptest

Active SatelliteGuys Member
Apr 4, 2004
24
0
Chicago
LOL...A local radio station is cooking the goat on Monday (opening day at Wrigley Field).
SO...the goat curse is over come Monday!! LMAO
 
Sparkman

Sparkman

Supporting Founder
Supporting Founder
Sep 8, 2003
1,308
36
Charlotte,NC
All these Cubs fans forget that the White Sox home games on WGN will also be in HD, as will Bulls games next fall. I can get them OTA, but any Digital Comcast subscribers will also get them as Comcast now has WGN-HD. Starting in the fall, Chicago will have a Comcast SportsNet replacing Fox Sports Net for the Cubs, Sox, Bulls, & Hawks. Hopefully, they will be also showing HD games & that they will make Comcast SportsNet available to satellite.
 
O

omard.

SatelliteGuys Pro
Supporting Founder
Dec 16, 2003
177
0
Berwyn, Illinois
Hopefully now that WGN in Chicago is showing the games in HD the other stations will follow suit.
 
P

professorgouda

New Member
Apr 28, 2004
1
0
I noticed Fox Sports HD has the Astros in HD all season. Is Murdock going to try yo kill Voom? Or is he going to allow some Fox Sports regional HD content. I would love to see regional sports options on Voom. I want my Seattle Mariners but no HD on Fox Sports NW yet anyway. (only 6 of 12 regions have HD options) All games are broadcast back to Japan in HD, Maybe move to Japan? Arigato?
 
vurbano

vurbano

On Double Secret Probation
Supporting Founder
Apr 1, 2004
23,813
104
Newport News, VA
Videofx said:
Starting today a Chicago 1st! On WGN Channel 9 Chicago EVERY Chicago Cubs, White Sox and Bulls home game will be broadcast in glorious HDTV.

The Cubs home opener is today and cant wait to see it in HDTV!!!

Just thought I'd let everyone know. :D

Bill
Yeah now you can see the choke in the playoffs in HD and blame the collapse on a fan.. lmao

sorry couldnt resist
 
M

mattyro

SatelliteGuys Guru
Apr 19, 2004
142
0
Imagine if VOOM became the home for all HD sports not being shown anywhere but locally?? I know the Yanks are in HD-I forget who b'casts them.MSG?PIX? I would watch ANY GAME AT ALL on ANY NIGHT AT ALL as long as the gamewas in hd. Just watching a curveball in HD is a great experience. YES, advertisers, you would have eyeballs from every state in the union watching your local b'cast if only you let the hd feed go out to us over voom.
 
FunkyBoss

FunkyBoss

Pub Member / Supporter
Mar 23, 2004
753
1
Chicagoland, IL
Anyone watching the Cubs game today? It is kind of bad here with lots of black flashes every minute or so during the broadcast. I have noticed this on other games before, but today seems especially bad. The camera also seems to be shaking a bit. Is this just my Voom box, or are others seeing this? :confused:
 
FunkyBoss

FunkyBoss

Pub Member / Supporter
Mar 23, 2004
753
1
Chicagoland, IL
Actually, it seemed to get better after the 3rd inning. Must have been something on WGN's side that they corrected.
 
DrWho

DrWho

SatelliteGuys Pro
May 11, 2004
190
0
WGN in Chicago became 2 stations, WGN Local, and WGN Superstation.

For some reason they were forced to do this when the Bulls were winning championships.

The NBA of FCC or someone thought that WGN could not send all these Bulls Games, everyone of them, over Cable TV.

So WGN had to become 2 channels, Loca and Superstation.

And that kind of sucked. Cause now that I live in Arizona, I only got 1 Bulls game a week, and less Cubs and Sox games. Usually 1 a week, when I had Cable.

I would love for Voom to get WGN local on Sattelite, want more Sox Games. But I don't think that will be happening any time soon.

And it sucks, cuase the Atlanta Channel, will show every damn Braves game every day.
 

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Total: 0, Members: 0, Guests: 0)

Top