Status
Please reply by conversation.

TRG

SatelliteGuys Master
Original poster
Pub Member / Supporter
Jul 19, 2007
Albuquerque, NM
I'm going a little nuts here. First off I'm a newbie. But I hold a degree in electronics technologies and have been working with electronics and mechanics (robotics to be specific) for 17 years.

After painstaking research I decided that my first FTA receiver needed PVR capabilities. Despite the Viewsat VS PRO's lack of history I decided I'd give it a try. I also bought a Azure 90 cm dish from 3ABN, Invacom QPH-031 LNBF and a SG-2100 motor.

My plan was to set up a temporary platform for the dish so I could move it to a few different locations on my property. With a good view to the south I set the dish in location #1, plumbed the pole, zeroed the motor and pointed it true south. I then set up my linear connection (DiSEqC port 1) to 10750 MHz and the circular connection (DiSEqC port 2) to 11250 MHz. My true south satellite is Anik F1R at 107.3. I wasn't able to find that but a close by DBS bird at 110 had the meters just about pegged on signal and quality. BTW my S and Q meters appear to be backwards. On my receiver when scanning the sky the quality comes up with zero signal until the quality meter hits around 50 or so and then the signal starts to come up. Weird. Anyway no matter what I do I cannot get any signal on the linear Ku sats. I can get DBS sats @ 91, 101, 110, 119 and 148. Now I know that DBS signals will be much greater than the linear signals but you'd think that I would be able to get something on linear. I've tried moving the EL on the dish (not the motor) + and – about 4 degrees in ½ degree increments, still nothing. Either the setting of 10750 Mhz for this LNBF is wrong or I suppose the LNBF could be bad on L and only C works?