"Amp"... me up !

Status
Please reply by conversation.

camford

Original poster
May 9, 2009
Florida
Thanks for the warm welcome ! NEW to FTA ,Still setting up,.. and my first day here.
I especially like the fact that you’re not made fun of ; or feel stupid,..for asking questions !!!
I’m a newbie,.. So here goes. I’m not sure,..WHERE OR,…if . I can put an inline signal amplifier.
I have a 30’ dish, with a qph-031 LNB,.. Diseqc 4x1 switch,.. and a SG6000 HH motor . With a Maximum allowable cable length of 75 Feet
And still have enough voltage from the receiver to make the motor run !! HERE ,..is my question. “Do I put the inline amp “AFTER” the Diseqc,
and “BEFORE” the motor ? OR after the motor , some where before the set top box ?
ALSO just for fun ,.. MY Direct tv is 5 years old ,.. CAN I put an in line amp in that cable as well,… or will it interfere with the built in switching
22 Khz tone between the 3 LNB’s ?
THANKS JJ

Welcome to SatelliteGuys! :wave

Inline amps should only be used to overcome EXTREMELY long cable runs (200 feet or greater). Inline amps will actually decrease the signal quality in shorter cable runs!

If an inline amp is installed, it would funion best if inserted between the motor and the DiSEqC switch. Inline amps do not usually interfere with 22KHz / DiSEqC control or voltages.

If you are concerned about signal loss invest in:
  • Larger reflector with higher gain and efficiency
  • Higher grade of coax (Quad Shield RG6 or RG11
  • Bypass the motor pass through using a high quality 2x1 two port power passing 2.3GHz rated splitter with one leg feeding the motor and the other the switches and LNBFs

Last edited:
Thanks for the warm welcome ! NEW to FTA ,Still setting up,.. and my first day here.
I especially like the fact that you’re not made fun of ; or feel stupid,..for asking questions !!!

Camford,:welcome To The Satellite Guys!:wave

You are in the right place for everything satellite!!