Another Newbie Success Story

Status
Please reply by conversation.

JohninSD

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
Nov 7, 2009
San Diego
I've been playing around with this stuff for about 4 months now. Started off with a Sonicview 8000HD and a terrestrial antenna to get OTA channels. Bought the SV from Shop4FTA - shipped quickly, received in good order. Had to upload version 4.43 of the firmware to get the VHF channels to work, never have got channel 30 to scan in - that's the local PBS affiliate. It's virtual channel 15, real channel 30. THe SV hesitates at the right freq (569 MHZ) but won't lock the channel. Turns out it doesn't really matter but I'm still curious about why it won't work.

The next step was to add a dish so I could get Create TV from the AMC 21 satellite so I ordered a WS9036 dish and a WSI DMX521 LNBF from Galaxy Marketing. Again the items were shipped quickly and arrived in fine shape. I mounted the dish to the patio cover on my house using the mount that came with it. My patio is on the south side of the house looking out over a canyon so this seemed like the best place to mount the dish. After a few hours of playing around I got AMC 21 tweaked in nicely, picking up several channels of PBS. The SV menu did not list the AMC 21 satellite so I had to enter it manually. This is one place where Sonicview could do better - it let me name the satellite but has no way of entering the longitude. No big deal with a fixed dish but the next step was to add a motor.