At my wits end.....

Discussion in 'DISH Network Support Forum' started by SPower, Aug 14, 2019.

  1. SPower

    SPower Topic Starter Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2019
    Posts:
    16
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Fallon, NV
    Hi,

    I have a king VQ4550 satellite dish with a Wally receiver. According to the Sat Finder app I have the dish pointed in the right direction. It is clear of any obstacles. It is automatic so I just need to point it in the right direction and it does the rest. Problem is I can't seem to get satellite 129! I have had it before at this location. Any ideas why I'm not getting 129? The receiver is HD, so without 129 I am missing a bunch of HD channels.
    Any help would be greatly appreciated!!

    I am currently located here 89406

    Is it possible to force 129 by selecting it in the settings?
     
  2. Tampa8

    Tampa8 I'll Stand Up and Say So Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Posts:
    17,474
    Likes Received:
    6,643
    Location:
    Tampa/Eastern Ct
    Too many variables to pin down what the problem is. Have you unplugged the receiver, waited a few minutes and plugged back in to make it find the satellites?

    Is there any settings to check for the auto part of finding the satellites?
     
    charlesrshell likes this.
  3. Bobby

    Bobby Publican Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    56,485
    Likes Received:
    9,886
    Location:
    Rohnert Park, CA
    Something else to try, remove the coax from the Wally and do a Check Switch. Reconnect the coax and let the Wally go through its thing.
     
    Tampa8 and charlesrshell like this.
  4. JSheridan

    JSheridan Full Time Resident Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Posts:
    8,225
    Likes Received:
    8,661
    Location:
    USA
    Have any trees grown up in the way or are there any other obstructions?
     
    charlesrshell likes this.
  5. SPower

    SPower Topic Starter Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2019
    Posts:
    16
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Fallon, NV
    I have tried everything I can think of, especially the obvious stuff, reboot, unplug, move dish.....no settings for the dish itself
     
    Tampa8 likes this.
  6. SPower

    SPower Topic Starter Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2019
    Posts:
    16
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Fallon, NV
    No, like I mentioned above, no obstructions.....ready to pull my hair out
     
    JSheridan likes this.
  7. Tampa8

    Tampa8 I'll Stand Up and Say So Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Posts:
    17,474
    Likes Received:
    6,643
    Location:
    Tampa/Eastern Ct
    If you have not yet try Bobby's suggestion above.
     
  8. SPower

    SPower Topic Starter Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2019
    Posts:
    16
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Fallon, NV
    Tried this with my fingers crossed, didn't work :-(
     
  9. SPower

    SPower Topic Starter Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2019
    Posts:
    16
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Fallon, NV
    Just did, didn't work
     
  10. rvvaquero

    rvvaquero SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    Posts:
    1,735
    Likes Received:
    1,889
    Location:
    Wanderer
    I feel your pain. Sounds like the same kind of problems I had with every King Controls product I ever bought, including two automatic dome dishes. Finally gave up and bought a decent Winegard dish and no more problems.
     
    Jamie57, HipKat and JSheridan like this.
  11. Joe h

    Joe h SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2018
    Posts:
    39
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Bismarck, nd
    Kings can be very finicky with level ness. Also the back handle has to be perfectly pointed true North. Another thing to try is in the initial setup menu try telling it you live one state to the west. Third thing to try is to force an update, earlier this summer they had an update relating to travel dishes.
     
    JSheridan likes this.
  12. SPower

    SPower Topic Starter Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2019
    Posts:
    16
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Fallon, NV
    Finicky is right I guess, I just kept moving it to different spots. Did this for hours! Must have walked 5 miles moving it then going inside to try it. I finally got it to work last night. Don't really like where the dish is sitting to make it work, but what are you gonna do....

    Question, what will telling it I'm one state over to the west do? I'm very curious about this idea! Thanks!!
     
    charlesrshell likes this.
  13. SPower

    SPower Topic Starter Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2019
    Posts:
    16
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Fallon, NV
    Which Winegard dish did you get? Thanks!
     
  14. JSheridan

    JSheridan Full Time Resident Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Posts:
    8,225
    Likes Received:
    8,661
    Location:
    USA
    IMHO the Pathway X2 is the best. It can be used on either eastern or western arc.
     
    rvvaquero and Jamie57 like this.
  15. rvvaquero

    rvvaquero SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    Posts:
    1,735
    Likes Received:
    1,889
    Location:
    Wanderer
    Pathway X2. Bigger dish, better software/firmware.
     
    JSheridan and NYDutch like this.
  16. Joe h

    Joe h SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2018
    Posts:
    39
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Bismarck, nd
    Couple years ago I was camping in central North Dakota, and it was only picking up 110. After an hour of repositioning I was about to give up, so one last try I started entering different states, and Montana is the one that worked. Software bug, antenna pointing too far west, I have no idea.
     
  17. navychop

    navychop Member of the Month - July 2014! Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Posts:
    47,389
    Likes Received:
    12,354
    Location:
    Northern VA
    Camping. In North Dakota.

    Have you seen a doctor about that?

    ;)


    Sent from my iPhone using SatelliteGuys App. For now.
     
    TheKrell, Miner and Bobby like this.
  18. glynnp

    glynnp SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2017
    Posts:
    367
    Likes Received:
    676
    Location:
    Washington State
    Still no Hopper 3.

    Have you seen a DISH doctor about that ?

    :biggrin
     
    HipKat, navychop and DWS44 like this.
  19. TheKrell

    TheKrell A mighty and noble race originating on Altair IV. Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Posts:
    24,925
    Likes Received:
    17,702
    Location:
    Fairfax, VA
    Indeed. If you're going to suffer the CUI, you might as well do so with an H3.
     
    dare2be and charlesrshell like this.
  20. navychop

    navychop Member of the Month - July 2014! Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Posts:
    47,389
    Likes Received:
    12,354
    Location:
    Northern VA
    They seem busy right now. I can wait.


    Sent from my iPhone using SatelliteGuys App. For now.
     
    charlesrshell likes this.

Separate names with a comma.

More...