Dish Network DPP44 Power Inserter

Discussion in 'Free To Air (FTA) Discussion' started by ziggy1222, Oct 5, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies due to lack of activity. Consider opening a new thread instead.
  1. ziggy1222

    ziggy1222 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    Posts:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    I got a Dish Network Model DPP44 Power Inserter at a garage sale the other day for $.50. The power brick attached to it shows an output of 28.0V or 20.5V at 1.65A. I put a meter on it on the leg "To Switch" and it shows about 21.0V no load and 20.5V with a LNB loaded to it. It shows zero V on the leg "To receiver satellite in".

    I wanted to use it as a power inserter to a Dual C feedhorn...it looks like it should be safe to put in line with a satellite receiver since it showed zero volts on the receiver leg. I am however concerned about the 20.5V power to an 18 volt LNB. Will I damage or shorten the LNB life with this extra 2.5-3.0 volts? Did Dish Network raise the voltage to compensate for longer coax runs...I would presume their LNB's only need 18V?

    Also I know I'm missing the compatable Dish Network switch with this but how does the power brick 28.0V come into play here? Is it activated by a 22khz tone? Does the missing switch incorporate a voltage drop so that the LNB is only getting 18V from the power brick's 20.5V or 28V output?
     
  2. Magic Static

    Magic Static FTA Geek
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU! Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Posts:
    6,378
    Likes Received:
    3,303
    Location:
    Montana
    The LNB may be rated for more than 18v. How do you plan to insert power to both LNBs with this unit? And switch between the two?
     
  3. ziggy1222

    ziggy1222 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    Posts:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've got a Trunkline 13/18V switch with like 16 outlets. At the present time one of the LNB's gets 18V and the other one gets 13V. If I put this power inserter on the LNB side of the Trunkline switch the 13V LNB would increase to 20.5V.

    I could go another way on this...I've actually now have two of these DPP44's. I could use one for each LNB and then put a standard 13/18V switch between the 2 DPP44's and the satellite receiver(s).
     
    #3 ziggy1222, Oct 5, 2011
    Last edited: Oct 5, 2011
  4. Magic Static

    Magic Static FTA Geek
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU! Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Posts:
    6,378
    Likes Received:
    3,303
    Location:
    Montana
    Well then you could experiment and add the voltage to the one side and see if there is an improvement. It may not warrant adding such a big powerbrick or two to the household background electrical load. I'm starting to see a tremendous load on the household when everything is "OFF".
    Too many power transformers plugged in at all times.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies due to lack of activity. Consider opening a new thread instead.

Separate names with a comma.

More...