Dishstore - can't buy receiver????

skierrob

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Sep 4, 2004
Called Dishstore.net to purchase a new or even refurb 211 receiver if they had one. Or a 211K if they didn't still have a 211 at a decent price.

So I called them this morning and spoke with a random agent on the phone and was told that since I was already an existing customer I would have to call "dish network customer service" at 800-894-9131 to add a new receiver to my account. I told him I just wanted to buy a 211 outright and he again said "you have to call customer service" insistently for a second and third time. I reiterated that I didn't want to lease a receiver -- I wanted to buy one. He said "you still have to call customer service....."

Does Dishstore.net no longer sell receivers to existing customers of Dish Network? Did I get some total newb salesman? Or what is going on?

Does Claude still hang out in here? Would love it if I might be able to get help from someone at Dishstore.net. ;)

I would just order from the website, but was hoping to get an actual 211 if there was one hanging around the store at a better price instead of getting a 211K.

Thanks!

Sometimes when the phone lines at DISHstore are busy it transfers you to "Satellite Sales" which is an external call center for signing up for DISH Network.

If you hear a recording telling you "Thank you for calling Satellite Sales" then hang up and try again in a little while and you will get someone at DISHstore. :)

I just got a brand new leased 211k from directly from Dish for $50. Besides avoiding a new 2 yr commitment, why is buying preferable to leasing? You still have to pay the same monthly fee don't you?

Biggest advantage is if you have a big home theater setup that you can hoook things up yourself instead of having someone come in and possibly mess your stuff up. :)