DTV HD on r-22 receiver and dish setup.. Help!!!

Status
Please reply by conversation.

rick9141965

Oct 21, 2013
chicagi illinois
I activated a used r-22-200 receiver on my current DTV account.. The r-22 was able to get hd programming because I have a HD DVR and HD subscription.. I want to move the R-22 out to my pole barn and run it from a seperate dish.. I got a Slimline dish with the 5lnb multiswitch.. When I set receiver config on r-22 for Slimeline 5 lnb I could only get signal from satellite 110.. I called DTV they said change receiver dish type to slimline 3 lnb.. They said I dont need satellite 110 & 119.. Changed setting now i get satellite 103.. No satellite 99 or 101... Called DTV and after further checking they told me only way R-22 is going to see 99 and 101 is buy hooking it back up to dish in house with the HD DVR.. They said because r-22 is a SD receiver it communicates through the multi switch with the HD DVR and that is why it is able to get HD.. So my question is even tho I have HD DVR does that R-22 really need to be on the same dish to see the HD satellites 99 & 101 ? Or can r-22 run indepently from another dish and get HD as long as I have HD DVR and HD subscription on my account.

I haven't heard anything about the R22 needing to be on the same dish in order for it to receive HD.
I suspect that you aren't aligned properly. You need 101 to get SD programming and possibly the authorization code.

The R22 will only convert to HD with an HDMI cable plugged in, a slimline dish, AND B-bands. After all these are present you'll need to force a download on the receiver to get the HD access. I suspect you don't have B-bands on the receiver

Posted Via The SatelliteGuys Reader App!