Got my first BUD

Status
Please reply by conversation.

hamah

Original poster
Apr 27, 2015
Alaska
I got my first c band 10 foot dish! I am fairly new to c band have used messed around with ku fta..
I have a Skybox F3 that is use for my ku fta.. My question is.. Can is use the skybox to move the c band actuator to move the dish? How would i go about doing this?
Any help is appreciated!

Reactions: N6BY
Congratulations and I hope you enjoy your new C Band 10' dish.

I don't know about the Skybox F3, but there are people here who I'm sure will be happy to help -- you have definitely found the right place to ask.

N6BY

With the KU dish the motor controller and motor are in the same unit. With the C-Band motors the controllers are separate. Right now there are two DiSEqC controllers being sold. V-Box 7 by DMSI and ASC1 by Titanium Satellite. But they are no where near the same unit. They are as different as night and day ;)

Reactions: hamah
Thank you all for the replies! I have always wanted to get a C band dish and i just could not pass up the opportunity to get this one! I had to drive 100 miles 1 way, but its in great shape and being free!! i could not pass it up! Thank you Magic Static for suggesting the V-Box to control the Actuator.. Price is not too bad and it looks like it will work fine for my needs!

Welcome to SatGuys, Hamah!

One thing to consider on which controller to get may be what feed you have on your dish, if it has a servo motor for polarity the ASC1 has the ability to control that, the V-Box doesn't. You could change the feed to something like the Titanium C1PLL LNBF pretty cheaply and not have to deal with it at all, $50 or so, if your feed is a servo type.

Last edited:
I do have the servo controller for polarity! I actually was planning to change it out anyways! The one that came with it looks a little beat up! Thank you for the suggestion!

Reactions: . Raine