1. System Upgrade THIS SUNDAY!

    This Sunday SatelliteGuys will be upgrading its forum software to the new 2.x version. The work to upgrade will take a few hours. Work is expected to start early Sunday Morning. For more details please visit our Operations Center Forum

    Thank you for your support!
    CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE
    Dismiss Notice

HOPPER SNAP

Discussion in 'DISH Network Support Forum' started by ekilgus, May 12, 2019.

  1. NYDutch

    NYDutch SatelliteGuys Pro Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2013
    Posts:
    2,038
    Likes Received:
    2,663
    Location:
    Where our wheels go
    This a very minor issue, but after moving my testing Snap from one H2 to the other H2, the first H2 reminds me the Snap is not there every time it's turned on until I hit "Select" to clear the message. Neither a soft or hard reset cleared the message. I fully intend to add a second Snap when they become available after the dual Hopper issue is resolved, but I'm wondering if anyone can think of anything else to try short of a factory reset?
     
    charlesrshell likes this.
  2. JSheridan

    JSheridan Full Time Resident Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Posts:
    8,592
    Likes Received:
    9,364
    Location:
    USA
    We installed a new customer with a Hopper 2 and Joey 2 today and it was dog slow before I added a Snap. Then it was pretty nice. :)
     
    HipKat, ggw2000, Tampa8 and 4 others like this.
  3. HipKat

    HipKat SatelliteGuys Master Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2017
    Posts:
    5,646
    Likes Received:
    9,336
    Location:
    Pekin, IL
    That wasn't your first one, was it?
     
  4. navychop

    navychop Member of the Month - July 2014! Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Posts:
    47,951
    Likes Received:
    12,908
    Location:
    Northern VA
    Bow to the East, pray to the West, hike hike hike and wait to buy or get a second one.


    Sent from my iPhone using SatelliteGuys
     
    NYDutch and charlesrshell like this.
  5. JSheridan

    JSheridan Full Time Resident Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Posts:
    8,592
    Likes Received:
    9,364
    Location:
    USA
    No. We've had them for a few weeks now. I think that was our third or fourth one. Most of our new customer installs are Hopper 3's. :)
     
    #285 JSheridan, Jun 27, 2019
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2019
    charlesrshell likes this.
  6. HipKat

    HipKat SatelliteGuys Master Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2017
    Posts:
    5,646
    Likes Received:
    9,336
    Location:
    Pekin, IL
    Ours, too, lately. I did a bunch of snaps in a week, then nothing the last 3 weeks
     
  7. blatimer1983

    blatimer1983 SatelliteGuys Guru

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Posts:
    122
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Are Hopper 1s still being installed for new customers? If not, which receivers are still being installed for new customers?

    I still love my Hopper 3.
     
  8. blatimer1983

    blatimer1983 SatelliteGuys Guru

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Posts:
    122
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    Mississippi
    It always seems like the VIP receivers are not being supported anymore.
     
  9. osumike

    osumike SatelliteGuys Pro Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2012
    Posts:
    879
    Likes Received:
    509
    Location:
    On a roof in Wisconsin
    Only for pre-pay customers, meaning that their credit couldn't qualify them for much else.
     
  10. Tampa8

    Tampa8 Supporting Founder Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Posts:
    17,626
    Likes Received:
    6,905
    Location:
    Tampa/Eastern Ct
    Seems that way because DISH announced overall they aren't.
     
  11. HipKat

    HipKat SatelliteGuys Master Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2017
    Posts:
    5,646
    Likes Received:
    9,336
    Location:
    Pekin, IL
    Everything is moving to the Hopper family, reducing the number of receivers overall (They still have more they should drop also, but that's a different story)
     
    blatimer1983 likes this.
  12. osumike

    osumike SatelliteGuys Pro Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2012
    Posts:
    879
    Likes Received:
    509
    Location:
    On a roof in Wisconsin
    I upgraded a customer a few days ago from two 322's, to two 722's. Wonder how long it'll be before I'm back there putting in a hopper...
     
    HipKat likes this.
  13. ggw2000

    ggw2000 SatelliteGuys Pro Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Posts:
    680
    Likes Received:
    99
    Location:
    Out here somewhere
    Well Dish came through!! Downloaded U717 on to my HWS last night. Just checked our SJ (superjoey) and it is now as fast as the HWS was after installing the SNAP a while back..
    Good job Dish and thanks again to Scott for sending me one :)..
    Gerry
     
  14. Howard Simmons

    Howard Simmons SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2018
    Posts:
    526
    Likes Received:
    381
    Location:
    Northwest Florida
    Any word when will they will be available for the public?
     
  15. Scott Greczkowski

    Scott Greczkowski Scanning the Skies! Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    97,859
    Likes Received:
    14,232
    Location:
    Newington, Connecticut
    They still need to get dual Hopper support working.
     
    NYDutch and charlesrshell like this.
  16. Cypresstree

    Cypresstree SatelliteGuys Pro Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2015
    Posts:
    159
    Likes Received:
    167
    Location:
    Cypress
    This is killing me. The anticipation I mean. Oh to have been caller number 8.

    Two HWS here...

    C’mon Already!!!


    Sent from my iPhone using SatelliteGuys mobile app
     
    rcpandr and Voyager6 like this.
  17. olds403

    olds403 SatelliteGuys Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    Posts:
    124
    Likes Received:
    63
    Location:
    michigan
    Have 1 HWS with 3 wireless Joeys here, really looking forward to being able to get a Snap. Hope they are available soon.
     
    TheKrell likes this.
  18. ekilgus

    ekilgus Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Posts:
    1,025
    Likes Received:
    541
    Location:
    Southeast US
    Apparently, they're being sold on ebay for around $20 each.
     
    Howard Simmons likes this.
  19. JSheridan

    JSheridan Full Time Resident Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Posts:
    8,592
    Likes Received:
    9,364
    Location:
    USA
    If you have 3 Joeys of any kind linked to a HWS you really need to upgrade to a Hopper 3. :)
     
    HipKat, TheKrell, NYDutch and 2 others like this.
  20. Bobby

    Bobby Publican Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    57,052
    Likes Received:
    10,476
    Location:
    Rohnert Park, CA
    Yeah, your HWS only has 3 tuners. If you are watching something on the Hopper and maybe recording one program you only have one tuner left to watch on 3 Joeys. Hopper 3 will fix that for you! :)
     

Separate names with a comma.

More...