How Do I Subscribe To DTV From Canada?

Status
Please reply by conversation.

parkim

Original poster
May 29, 2005
I joined as a member today and read a thread (that has been closed) about someone who wanted to subscribe to DTV through a cousin in the States and hence, he was "account splitting"...

My situation differs from the above in that I have no intention of account splitting/sharing. I do have a residence in Florida (with acitve telephone #) but I am a permanent resident of Canada (Canadian citizen) and wish to subscribe to Directv ( I have two Hughes STB's with cards). What I don't have is a US credit card.

I've tried calling the DTV 1-800 # but it doesn't work from Canada.

Short of going to Buffalo to make the call, is there any other way of subscribing. When I go to DTV's website it would appear you can only apply on line if you are prepared to buy a package that requires purchasing their equipment/install which I don't need? It would seem you also have to supply them with a US social security #?

Assuming I will have to make the drive to Buffalo to make the call, what infomation will DTV require from me? I assume:

Receiver Serial #
Card #

Will they take a Canadian credit card #?

Thanks for the help.

There is a couple of ways which you can use to complete the call.

1) Use a calling card. when I visited Canada a few years back and needed to call back to our office which had only a US Toll-Free number I just used a calling card.

2) Make friends with someone on the US side who has 3 way calling and can conference you in.

3) Get a service like Vonage or CallVantage and use them to call D*

If you do decide to drive to Buffalo, You will need the following:

Receiver ID
Serial Number
Model #
Access Card Number

It won't hurt to take your Tivo Service ID as well.

canada

the main problem is you live in a country that doesn't want you to get outside