How to copy folders or files between different multiboot images? Edision OS MIO 4k

Discussion in 'Linux/Enigma OS Support' started by primestar31, Apr 18, 2019.

  1. primestar31

    primestar31 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Posts:
    8,162
    Likes Received:
    4,400
    Location:
    Beta Omicron Delta III
    If I'm booted into an image on slot2, I can see the folder structure on that image I'm booted on through the network. IF I wanted to copy a folder or file FROM that image, to the image in slot1, how can I do that?

    This is on an Edision OS MIO 4k receiver. I have slightly different rev versions of SatDreamGR in slot1 and slot2, OpenVix in slot3, and OpenPLI 7.0 in slot 4.

    Does anybody know how to do this?
     
  2. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Dogs have owners, cats have staff Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    7,306
    Likes Received:
    7,453
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    From within Windows, I would think you could navigate to the file folder containing the file you want, right click on it, COPY the file, reboot to the destination image, open the destination folder, then PASTE that file. You don't want to "move" it from the old image because then it would be missing.
     
  3. primestar31

    primestar31 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Posts:
    8,162
    Likes Received:
    4,400
    Location:
    Beta Omicron Delta III
    I agree that would likely work. Except in a case such as this where the folder is the one needed to actually completely BOOT on the image in slot1. I can no longer boot to that image due to this issue, and it doesn't go far enough on that slot to appear on the network. The folder is called init.d

    I figure as a last resort I could just reflash that slot from scratch, but I'm hoping I don't have to go that far. IF I can find a way to copy this folder, I think I'll be fine.
     
  4. voomvoom

    voomvoom SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    Posts:
    6,647
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Lizella, Georgia Republic
    This is correct, if you have windows, go to the whatever it's called in the left/lower corner, the box to type a Search with
    enter backslash, backslash, ip address of your receiver, backslash, root
    it would look similar to this
    \\10.0.0.8\root
    that should bring up the files from your receiver
    then do as CN says
    Good Luck..!!!

    Al

    EDIT:
    This would be for the image you are in/on
    If you can't get into the image you want to fix, it's likely not going to work?
     
    comfortably_numb likes this.
  5. primestar31

    primestar31 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Posts:
    8,162
    Likes Received:
    4,400
    Location:
    Beta Omicron Delta III
    See my post reply above to CN. Any other ways?
     
  6. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Dogs have owners, cats have staff Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    7,306
    Likes Received:
    7,453
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    Probably if you have a computer with a Linux image you could access it, but I'm not a Linux guy, so I can't help you there.
     
  7. primestar31

    primestar31 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Posts:
    8,162
    Likes Received:
    4,400
    Location:
    Beta Omicron Delta III
    Here's how to do this per Megatron817 at LegitFTA:
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Mount slot1 while booted in slot2
    With PuTTY type:

    mkdir /media/slot1
    mount /dev/mmcblk1p3 /media/slot1

    Then use FTP and goto media folder and see if slot1 is there.
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    I didn't get that info in time, and actually ended up basically recovering from re-flashing the image in slot1, and then just copying over a saved copy of my Enigma2 folder I had previously saved.

    Once I rebooted from doing that, I was back up and running in slot1.

    IF I had done a more recent backup and kept proper track on which thumbdrive had it, I would have been better off. ALWAYS have a good backup!
     

Separate names with a comma.

More...