IA-5 97.0 W FTA reception near Seattle?

Status
Please reply by conversation.

ck_425

Original poster
Oct 26, 2006
Hello all, I am new to FTA so bear with me if some of this does not make sense.

I live just north of Seattle, Washington and would like to receive the FTA programming on this satellite: 97.0 West IA-5 (Intelsat Americas 5).

Is there someone from this region that can tell me the smallest dish I can use to receive an acceptable signal? I have read online that a 36 in dish is recommended but want to know if anyone has had success with anything smaller up here.

Thanks.

I'm near seattle (a bit N of it)

Get as much dish size as you can. I have a 36" dish and many channels on IA5 are a bit weak. I'm using a TechSAT Tracker LNBF (0.3 dB NF which is very quiet)

Rain fade can be a problem especially in the winter.

If you can swing it, get a 1.2m (48") dish--some local dealers have them.

You won't regret a bigger dish, but you WILL regret it if you have too small of a dish when you're stuck inside during rainy winter evenings and lose the picture!

Get a quiet and stable LNBF (Invacom is very good (low noise) Norsat can be very stable (which can also help with signal reception) and the TechSAT Tracker can also be low noise.

Every fraction of a dB of signal is like gold or platinum! Aim carefully to get every bit of signal you can.

Thanks for the fast reply and information.

I won't be able to swing a 48" dish. My HOA covenents want to restrict homeowners to a 24" dish... (in violation of OTARD). I was hoping to hear that I could get away with a 30" as that might not attract much attention. I guess I could go 36" as that is within OTARD Protection (*as far as I understand.) but I know that will bring a fight.

Having lived and installed many dishes in the NW I will certainly suggest that the 36" dish will be recommended for reliable reception.