Issues and questions...

Status
Please reply by conversation.

McGuyver

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Apr 4, 2007
Nuclear Testing Grounds
I'm fairly new to the FTA satellite hobby although I've owned a fixed mount 90CM KTI dish and "Manhattan Skyline 1000" receiver for about 4 years now to pick up my Adventist programming but now I see other interests in FTA channels such as PBS, etc. I just purchased another receiver "Captive Works 600S Premium," a "DS-GEO 90CM Dish" and a "Stab HH120" rotor for toying around.

One thing I noticed about the set up is that it's been very difficult to get focused on the Clark belt which I haven't sucessfully done yet, my longitude is 117.8*W and I've tried to focus on 116.8*W "Sat Mex 5" but can't find it......arg! I was able to tune in on AMC4 (my usual sat) but no others yet, I know that it will take more patience and time, hopefully I'll get it soon. I've set the HH120 elevation to my Latitude of 35.6*N and with a compass, pointed as close to magnetic south as possible according to instructions. BTY, the mount is perfectly plumb.

My question for you all is; what is "Blind Scan"? How would it be used in my new set up with a HH120 motor?

The "CW 600S Premium" has this "Blind Scan" feature and also the ability of identifying the satellite at which I am focused on, this I like because I know for sure if I'm aiming at the right bird. During the dish/motor tuning proceedure I noticed many times that I was picking up a signal while seeking AMC3 or other birds but the CW receiver was saying: "unknown satellite found" and so I'm assuming that I wasn't focused on the particular bird I've chosen but another in close proximity. Did I assume right?

Thanks for any input and/or suggestions you may offer.