Let me rephrase my question

Status
Please reply by conversation.

18wheeler

Original poster
Jan 24, 2006
Sorry for my last post sounding like I was trying to break the rule. Let me rephrase my question:

How do I receive Ku-band Free-to-air digicipher II program?

There are planty FTA ku-band DCII listed at lyngsat.com. The perticular one I want to get is PBS Kids. I used to have it on Ku-band DVB, but lost it last Oct. I am a totally newbie to the DCII stuff. So please bear with me here.

From what I have read, you have to use a 4DTV receiver? will other DCII capable receivers work? Reason I ask is that I saw a seller sell *C DSR-401mn as DSR-905. He claimed that they are identical. One artical said *C DSR-921 is identical to DSR920, and US channel map will be downloaded to DSR921 automatically, if aim to appropriate sat. Is it true? how about other DCII capable receivers, like DSR-405, DSR550, DSR-410(HITS receiver?). I would guess not. otherwise everybody would get those receivers instead of pay hundreds of dollar for a 4DTV.

another important question: do I have to own a C-band dish in order to use 4DTV receivers? Do I need to sub to 4DTV package, even I only need ku-band F.T.A. program?

and lastly, a specific question for DSR905. it only for digital signal, right? Do I have to couple it with a C-band analog receiver, or a DVB receiver like my Fortec is fine, if I only need digital DCII FTA channels?

Thanks!

DCII (Digicipher II) is just another scrambling technique (like DVB)

The HITS receiver wont work (been there tried that)

The issue is to get the channel maps to download on a DCII receiver you have to be hooked to a C-band dish. The exception is a StarChoice receiver (but that’s because SC is KU)

I guess the big question is do we know for a fact its still there? You have to remember, the person who runs Lyngsat CANNOT see our US satellites (he’s in Europe somewhere).