LOOking to get rid of direct TV and get FTA system to lower my cost monthly

Status
Please reply by conversation.

garageguy

Original poster
Oct 15, 2015
thousand oaks,ca
Hey everybody,
Im new to all this but was told that i could buy a satellite system that picks up the digital Hd channels for free. Is this true . Is this a do it yourself project or are there installers around. also what is needed when you have multiple tvs(5) ?Is DVR still a option ? Any info and products to recommend would be greatly appreciat

Yes, you can get some HD channels for free by satellite. It is basically a diy system but you may be able to find an installer in your area. Multiple tv's would need a receiver for each TV. All the new fta receivers can DVR if you add a hard drive to it.

You are not going to find it the same as DirecTV, as most premium channels are not free or available to a fta system but I still find enough to watch. Check out The List at the top of the fta forums to see what channels are available. The list might not be up to date on all satellites but it is pretty close.

You would need to get at least a 90 cm dish for a ku fta system but if you got room for a 8' dish you will get a lot more channels on c band.

Hey everybody,
Im new to all this but was told that i could buy a satellite system that picks up the digital Hd channels for free. Is this true . Is this a do it yourself project or are there installers around. also what is needed when you have multiple tvs(5) ?Is DVR still a option ? Any info and products to recommend would be greatly appreciat