Most cost affective fta receiver that can tune in Shepard's Chapel

Status
Please reply by conversation.

Tundracat

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
Aug 9, 2009
Fairbanks, alaska
Hi! I am new to this subject-fta receiver. I have a C band LNB pointed at G16 Transponder 16 with a 12 foot mesh dish in order to watch Shepard's Chapel thru summer of 2014. Since that time they went digital (see specifics: http://www.shepherdschapel.com/

If I purchase something like a Geostat MicrosatHD satellite receiver as has been mentioned in other threads, would all I need to do is disconnect the General Instrument 450 receiver (not interested in needing it as a dish mover) and swap it out with a new DVB S2 receiver? What is a reasonable price and reputable place to purchase this receiver who will ship to Alaska? As far as I know, all the C band satellite companies here in Fairbanks have dried up and I am not technology inclined, so I could use a little help here if this is feesible with a simple swap out.

Do not need a DVR feature--so if there are others without this feature--I am all ears. Just looking to receive this one channel only.
fill.gif

Holy crap! This MicroHd is tiny. Is it simple to connect to my 20 year old General Instrument 450 c band receiver? Do I need any other special equipment or a new LNB?

There is also the Amiko Mini HD SE which is an excellent receiver.
There are a couple on this forum that sell FTA equipment that are very good to deal with, myself included.
You most likely want to change out your LNB with a new LNBF. The Titanium C1-PLL would be an excellent choice.
If your wiring is still in good shape yes it is pretty simple, to modernize your set-up. If it has been out in the sun all these years, it would be a good idea to change it out.