music Choice on G14 125w

Discussion in 'C-BAND Satellite Discussion' started by wildbill47, Feb 11, 2019.

Tags:
  1. wildbill47

    wildbill47 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Posts:
    287
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    northern California
    I purchased a ibravebox V8 to play with for $25 new and after loading the latest firmware it really receives ACM Music Choice on 4140 TP 22. Audio is good but has video problems on MC. Can be used as a low cost music receiver and works good with my 8 ft "C" band dish. I am able to receive other FTA unscrambled HD channels good too.You need to upgrade the receiver by USB flash drive as WIFI from their server is bad. USA satellite map needs to be loaded too.

    iBRAVEBOX V8HD_20180912.bin needed.
     
    truckracer likes this.
  2. pacificrim

    pacificrim SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Posts:
    1,036
    Likes Received:
    915
    Location:
    West Coast Canada
    Good to know. I bought a iBravebox F10S a couple years ago with the hope it would get MC but even though it was promoted as doing ACM/VCM, it could not. I ended up getting a X2 M1HD+ to do the job.

    The F10s model also struggled with bad firmware that would flicker the LNB power on and off, resulting in pixelation and "no signal" messages.
     
  3. Titanium

    Titanium AI6US
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Posts:
    6,230
    Likes Received:
    6,317
    Location:
    Meadow Vista, Northern California
    LOL... A clone of clone of a Freesat? Now that is a new low! :facepalm

    Moderator: Might want to delete the url as the unit is advertised as an autoroll capable STB.
     
    #3 Titanium, Mar 7, 2019
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2019
  4. wildbill47

    wildbill47 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Posts:
    287
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    northern California
    I am not promoting any products only telling what works unfortunately there is some junk coming out of China in fact it is like the wild west. I have found another product that maps and receives Music Choice Ibravebox F10 plus. The down side is it has a AV jack but no cable is supplied or can be ordered from sellers. I found a cable in my junk box that worked. Tip video, rings left and right audio and bottom ground. Has some error problems on low signal Mpeg2 and 4 video probably because it is power vu compatible. We really like MC and have the receiver dedicated to it.
     
  5. wildbill47

    wildbill47 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Posts:
    287
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    northern California
    Titanium I was unable to pm you so I want to say there are only a few receivers that get ACM and VCM transmissions and in helping others give this information freely. The GEOSAT PRO is one but the cost is over $100 and I have 2 the reason is power connector is bad by design. Have had to send one in for replacement. I think if someone wants MC for $30 that is a good deal as it is unscrambled ACM.
     
    Titanium likes this.
  6. wildbill47

    wildbill47 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Posts:
    287
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    northern California
    I have purchased several FTA receivers because of their low price and found that they do not perform as advertised. In fact the ones that are advertised as hack receivers will not work for that function. I do not advocate decoding scrambled services without payment. We spend a lot of hours on PBS and commercial free radio. It is neat to get CREATE TV as it is not shown in our area. I am amazed at the free stuff on satellite.So if you have a bud and want to receive MC a receiver for this service is affordable now..
     
  7. Titanium

    Titanium AI6US
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Posts:
    6,230
    Likes Received:
    6,317
    Location:
    Meadow Vista, Northern California
    We don't promote these STBs, because they automatically enable theft of service without the user doing anything but simply watching TV. Many users have unknowingly received encrypted programming and even shared their "FTA" channel finds on this and other forums. :(
     
    KE4EST likes this.
  8. wildbill47

    wildbill47 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Posts:
    287
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    northern California
    Titanium there is a problem in that few fta receiver manufactures support ACM. To make hack receivers get scrambled channels need a key. I think in this area most consumers have direct and dish. For most the bud and fta is dead. Need to go Wednesday night is PBS for us love their satellite feeds.
     
  9. Titanium

    Titanium AI6US
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Posts:
    6,230
    Likes Received:
    6,317
    Location:
    Meadow Vista, Northern California
    Sorry, but you are incorrect. These receivers are shipped from the factory with keys and firmware enabled auto roll.
     

Separate names with a comma.

More...