Need Help with Dual Tuner Backfeed with a Diplexer

aaronhoes

Well-Known SatelliteGuys Member
Original poster
May 1, 2006
Not sure if I'm doing something wrong or if I just had bad luck here with my diplexer. I'm trying to use diplexers to just run a single line to a 322 receiver. I've heard this works but its my first attempt and didn't turn out very good. I'm using a Dish 500 with the DPP twin LNB. My line from the dish goes to the basement where I connect in to the SAT port on the diplexer and use the ANT port there to feed the second room. The single line from that Diplexer's IN/OUT goes up to the receiver at TV1. Now behind the receiver I am going in to the other Diplexer's IN/OUT and then use the SAT port to go to my DPP Separator and on to the satellite inputs, while the ANT port of the Diplexer is going to the TV2 output. It seems like this should work and I do get some picture on TV2 but it is extremely fuzzy, signal strength is still good. Is this supposed to work? Do you need a specific type of Diplexer (power passing maybe)? Mine are rated 40-2300 MHz.

Thanks,
Aaron

Your diplexor is backwards.

Line from wall goes to in/out

ant port goes to TV2 out on reviever

Sat port goes to in on seperator

That's why you are fuzzy.

aaronhoes said:
Now behind the receiver I am going in to the other Diplexer's IN/OUT and then use the SAT port to go to my DPP Separator and on to the satellite inputs, while the ANT port of the Diplexer is going to the TV2 output.

I think what I meant here, what I'm doing, is the same thing you are suggesting. The line coming up from the basement goes to the IN/OUT, SAT is connected to my separator, and ANT is connected to the TV2 out.:confused: