No Signal Using SWM

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE
Status
Please reply by conversation.

Loneeagleswa

Original poster
Oct 18, 2013
Texas
I am a newbie here and tried searching some but could not find any help with my situation ....

Just got a NEW Slimline 5 Dish with the SWM technology and setting up from scratch.

My Equipment:
Slim Line Dish
LNB - SL5S4NR2
Power Inserter
MSPLIT8R1-02
Receiver - HR21

The problem is this:
when i power up the receiver and go through the set up .... the receiver recognizes that the SWM setup ... it shows the slimline dish with the SWM switch ... that is the good news ...

the BAD news is that when you go to the signal page you see zeros .... and when you go to the signal meter it does not see either tuner 1 or 2.

I do not have a meter to help with zeroing in on 101, however we hooked up a D12 receiver and got Sat 101 with no problem with a single LNB I borrowed from a neighbor ... however when I setup the SWM again with the SWM LNB ... again the receiver does not see the signal????

I am powering the inserter through a power surge protector, but this should not be a problem???

Also, I read a post to "verify voltage" at the dish ... how do I do this and what voltage am I looking for???
Also, is it possible to use the SWM LNB without power inserter to find Sat 101???

any help will be appreciated ...

Blue Skies ... LE

:welcome to Satelliteguys Loneeagleswa!

The power inserter should work on a power strip, but it can cause issues, so better not to use it.