NYC locals in Bucks County, PA

Status
Please reply by conversation.

PP123

Original poster
Jan 12, 2016
Bucks County, PA
I am a resident of Bucks County, PA (border of NJ and PA) and like many of my neighbors travel to NYC for work on almost a daily basis. I like to be able to get local NYC channels so I am aware of any weather related transit delays, police activity, etc etc. However, due to my closer proximity to Philly, I only get Philly locals which are of no use to me. Since I am only 60 miles south of NYC, I could technically get the local channels through a powerful over the air antenna but it may be hit or miss and a lot of hassle to erect on my roof. I also own a studio apartment in the NYC area which I rent out so do have an actual address in that area under my name. However Slignbox is not an option as the apartment is currently rented out so don’t want to inconvenience the tenant too much. My questions are:

What are my other options to get NYC locals in my area? I read that I could get Dish or Directv and change my address to my studio address in NYC and I should be good. If this is the case:

1. Is this arrangement easier with Directv or Dish? I called Directv and they said if you move, they still send a technician to new address to verify install was done correctly.

2. What is the worst that can happen if they found out and wanted to make an example? E.g. are we looking at denial of service, fines, jailtime, etc?

3. Will I get the NYC spot beam since I am 60 miles south? (As a reference, counties adjacent to me get all NYC local channels through cable and satellite). Does it matter if the dish is high, low during installation or if I get the service duing installation, I should still get the new channels when I change address?

4. Anything else I should be aware of or other options I should consider?

Thanks all!

Last edited:
They cover pike County because it is part of NYC metro area..I'm thinking u should be good