Opportunity to design a home theater

rockymtnhigh

Hardly Normal
Original poster
Supporting Founder
Apr 14, 2006
Normal, IL
Ok, we are in the process of buying a new construction home, and I have the opportunity to build a home theater in the basement (discussing the home purchase in the Pub), but I wanted to get some input from the HT gurus about several questions.

1) What is a good size in terms of room dimensions for a Home Theater setup?

2) I have no experience at all with projector systems, but know they are 720p systems; how does the picture quality compare with a 1080p LCD or Plasma? I know I can go for a rather large screen (i.e., up to 100"), but again, what is quality?

Again, I have NO EXPERIENCE whatsoever with this type of system, but for some reason my wife is actually encouraging me to make sure we include a theater in the finishing of the basement (I am sure there must be a catch, but so far, I am not sure what it is ;) .

Not trying to create a state of the art setup, just a decent one. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Ok, we are in the process of buying a new construction home, and I have the opportunity to build a home theater in the basement (discussing the home purchase in the Pub), but I wanted to get some input from the HT gurus about several questions.

1) What is a good size in terms of room dimensions for a Home Theater setup?

Well on the SM to MD size I would say 16'w x 24'd
..and you can go nuts on the LG to XL sizes.

2) I have no experience at all with projector systems, but know they are 720p systems; how does the picture quality compare with a 1080p LCD or Plasma? I know I can go for a rather large screen (i.e., up to 100"), but again, what is quality?

The 720 & 1080 FPTV are astonishing; even the 720 rivals the "flat panels".

Some to look at maybe:

Sanyo PLV-Z2000
Sanyo PLV-Z4 or 5
Panasonic PT-AE1000U
Panasonic PT-AE2000U
Panasonic AE900U
Panasonic PT-AX100U or 200U