1. System Upgrade THIS SUNDAY!

    This Sunday SatelliteGuys will be upgrading its forum software to the new 2.x version. The work to upgrade will take a few hours. Work is expected to start early Sunday Morning. For more details please visit our Operations Center Forum

    Thank you for your support!
    CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE
    Dismiss Notice

Orby uplink cemter

Discussion in 'Orby TV - Support Forum' started by truckracer, Sep 20, 2019.

  1. truckracer

    truckracer Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Posts:
    4,262
    Likes Received:
    298
    Location:
    Charleston wv
    Does orby have a dedicated uplink center somewhere that beams their content to Satmex? California?

    Sent from my SM-G955U using the SatelliteGuys app!
     
  2. Juan

    Juan Supporting Founder Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Posts:
    23,145
    Likes Received:
    4,842
    Location:
    Moscow Russia
  3. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Dogs have owners, cats have staff Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    7,851
    Likes Received:
    8,258
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    Titanium likes this.
  4. Magic Static

    Magic Static FTA Geek Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU! Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Posts:
    6,899
    Likes Received:
    4,017
    Location:
    Montana
  5. Juan

    Juan Supporting Founder Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Posts:
    23,145
    Likes Received:
    4,842
    Location:
    Moscow Russia
    Excuse me...it tells who they are leasing satellite space from...orby uses someone elses uplink facility...the company listed in the article....reading is fundemental
    Sent from my SM-G950U using the SatelliteGuys app!
     
  6. Scott Greczkowski

    Scott Greczkowski Scanning the Skies! Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    97,861
    Likes Received:
    14,237
    Location:
    Newington, Connecticut
    We have Orby's CTO here as a member, perhaps he can give us some details (maybe a pic or two) of Orby's uplink. (I love seeing things like that!)
     
  7. Titanium

    Titanium AI6US Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Posts:
    6,564
    Likes Received:
    7,043
    Location:
    Meadow Vista, Northern California
    Agreed, reading is fundemental.... LOL!!!

    I'm unable to determine where Orby is uplinked. Reports only indicate that Orby has a lease agreement with Eutelsat, but nothing indicates if it is for bandwidth or turn services. EutelSat has several uplink centers, but Orby may use a third party's uplink anywhere in the footprint. :)
     
  8. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Dogs have owners, cats have staff Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    7,851
    Likes Received:
    8,258
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    THANK YOU. Much more helpful than personal attacks.
     
    Titanium and dishdude like this.
  9. Juan

    Juan Supporting Founder Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Posts:
    23,145
    Likes Received:
    4,842
    Location:
    Moscow Russia
    Thats why I said hint....it gives a satellite company they are using....also says they" ride along" meaning they dont own any facilities
    Sent from my SM-G950U using the SatelliteGuys app!
     
  10. Wescopc

    Wescopc SatelliteGuys Pro Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2005
    Posts:
    1,845
    Likes Received:
    160
    Location:
    Canby, Oregon
    So is spelling! "fundamental" ! Careful about throwing stones.
     
  11. harshness

    harshness SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Posts:
    15,729
    Likes Received:
    2,364
    Location:
    Salem, OR
    Other than as a tool for predicting or verifying weather-related outages, what use is knowing where the uplink location is?
     
    Titanium likes this.
  12. Juan

    Juan Supporting Founder Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Posts:
    23,145
    Likes Received:
    4,842
    Location:
    Moscow Russia
    It was spelled the way my phone spelled it(lol)
    Sent from my SM-G950U using the SatelliteGuys app!
     
  13. truckracer

    truckracer Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Posts:
    4,262
    Likes Received:
    298
    Location:
    Charleston wv
    No reason really. I used to see the photos of DirecTV's uplink in Missouri years ago. Just as a hobbyist it connects an image with the service.

    Sent from my SM-G960U1 using the SatelliteGuys app!
     
  14. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Dogs have owners, cats have staff Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    7,851
    Likes Received:
    8,258
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    Where in Missouri?
     
  15. truckracer

    truckracer Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Posts:
    4,262
    Likes Received:
    298
    Location:
    Charleston wv
    If I remember it was Branson.

    Sent from my SM-G960U1 using the SatelliteGuys app!
     
    comfortably_numb likes this.
  16. OrbyTV-ITK

    OrbyTV-ITK Member Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    May 21, 2019
    Posts:
    8
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    wallyhts, NYDutch, FTA4PA and 6 others like this.
  17. EmCommSat

    EmCommSat Well-Known SatelliteGuys Member Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2019
    Posts:
    32
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    USA
  18. Scott Greczkowski

    Scott Greczkowski Scanning the Skies! Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    97,861
    Likes Received:
    14,237
    Location:
    Newington, Connecticut
    NYDutch and EmCommSat like this.

Separate names with a comma.

More...