OS Mio 4K newbie questions

Discussion in 'Linux/Enigma OS Support' started by Martyn, Aug 5, 2019.

  1. Martyn

    Martyn Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2005
    Posts:
    570
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Concord, CA
    I just got the receiver and wow, what a learning curve!

    A few questions: In Brian's original note the importance of backing up the system image is noted. However, it appears the menus have changed since that was written. I can't find the backup function no matter where I look. I suspect it's hidden away somewhere (like the timezone setting wasn't in the time sub menu)

    He lists how to set it up with a single satellite. I got that. I've added a second satellite but I can't get the box to command my ASC1. Any tips on that?

    Where is the signal meter?

    How do I get the weather in either Celsius or off the screen altogether? All I can find is MSN weather for Atlanta in the menu. I even disabled that plugin, but it still appears to be there. The weather plugin mentioned in the start-up post is not in the receiver.

    Thanks all, I'm sure I'll get the hang of it soon.
     
  2. Titanium

    Titanium AI6US Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Posts:
    6,332
    Likes Received:
    6,505
    Location:
    Meadow Vista, Northern California
    To make an image back-up, connect a USB thumb drive and use the installed plugin: "Backup Suite". Follow the onscreen prompts in the Backup Suite plugin.

    Sounds like you did not use the Install Wizard? If not, the settings will be made in different menus.

    To add a satellite: Menu>>> Setup>>> Service Searching>>> Tuner Configuration>>> Tuner A.

    The configuration for each satellite will depend on the signal path between your LNB and the receiver. Example: If C-band is from a motorized dish using a LNB or LNBF with LO 5150 on a DiSEqC 1.0 switch port A:

    Configuration Mode : Advanced
    Satellite: Select the C-band Satellite name from the list (hint: press the PVR button on the remote control to display a list).
    LNB: This is the signal path that you define to the motorized C-band LNB. Let's select this signal path as "LNB 1"
    Priority: Auto
    Type of LNB/device: C-band 5150
    Voltage Mode: Polarization
    Increased Voltage: No need to increase voltage for a normal system, so leave at the default OFF setting in this example.
    Tone Mode: OFF (not using a 22KHz switch)
    DiSEqC mode: 1.2 to control a DiSEqC type controller (or HH USALS type motor).
    Fast DiSEqC: Leave in default OFF setting unless devices require it to be changed).
    Toneburst: None
    DiSEqC 1.0: Port A (to select Port A of a connected DiSEqC 1.0 switch in this example)
    DiSEqC 1.1: None (not using a 1.1 type switch in this example).
    Sequence Repeat: Leave in default OFF setting as not cascading switches or devices in this example.
    Use USALS for this Sat: Set to OFF as we are using DiSEqC 1.2 mode for this example.
    Stored Position: enter the DiSEqC 1.2 motor assignment number that you have saved for this satellite.
    Extra Motor Options: leave in default OFF position until you know and wish to adjust the rate of travel speed / time calculation on the motor moving display.
    T2MI Raw Mode: leave in the default ON setting ( Google "t2mi stream relay" if you wish to learn more about this function)
    Force Legacy Stats: Leave default OFF setting. No need to use old method.

    Now you have created "LNB1" as the signal path to receive signals from the C-band LNB, LO 5150, DiSEqC Port A of your motorized dish. You can either press the Green RCU button to save this one satellite or add more satellites before pressing the Green RCU button to save the tuner configuration. To add another C-band satellite with the same C-band signal path, go back up to the Satellite line and select another satellite and the only different setting will be to enter a different Stored Position DiSEqC 1.2 Motor Assignment number. You may exit the Tuner setting by saving at any time.

    Once a satellite is activated with a signal path in the tuner setup, you may use Satellite Blind scan or Manual Scan to serach the satellite for transponders and / or log services.

    - - - - -
    Signal meter for a logged service is displayed by pressing the OK button.
    The signal meter for a transponder: Menu>>> Set-up>>> Service Searching>>> Signal Finder
    - - - -

    The Weather display is part of the GlamorAuraFHD-NA Skin - I dont think it can be removed from the service display banners. It may be in an advanced menu. Sorry. not sure... To change the city,C/F or FT/sec. Press menu while in the Weather MSN plugin. Use either the remote keys (ledgend below) or an attached keyboard to enter and save your city zipcode.
     
  3. c-spand

    c-spand SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2019
    Posts:
    166
    Likes Received:
    76
    Location:
    N. California
    I have found a few t2mi stream relay parameters 121w 11731 H 5166 16spk IS:21 and 113w 11706 H 5000 16spk was IS:21 now gone. Just curious if anyone can stream these. Thank you
     
  4. Martyn

    Martyn Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2005
    Posts:
    570
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Concord, CA
    Thanks Brian!

    24 hours later and this is starting to make more sense. There is a certain logic to the menus but I started very confused with the whole thing. Your instructions were helpful and I now have the correct time.

    As for moving the positioner, I'm embarrassed to say that was user error!

    Cheers,

    Martyn
     
    Titanium likes this.
  5. Martyn

    Martyn Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2005
    Posts:
    570
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Concord, CA
    Progress continues to be made, but a couple of things have me confused at present:

    1) Multiboot. I managed to add another image of the SatDreamGR in slot 2. It's dated later and has a different GUI than the original but it's there and I've found the multiboot menu. But how to add non-SatDreamGR images? I noticed it only checked its own server online. I have an image on a USB but cannot find a menu where it will look at local disks. (I've searched and searched online but all the examples use different images that seem to have "Flash from USB" options and I think it's not existing in this one)

    2) After adding the updated SatDreamGR image into slot 2, I was surprised it came up with all my stored channels and the "North American Project" wallpaper. Are these skins and settings shared across different images?
     
  6. Titanium

    Titanium AI6US Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Posts:
    6,332
    Likes Received:
    6,505
    Location:
    Meadow Vista, Northern California
    To load an image in any slot (suggest not to overwrite the default slot 1):

    Create a folder on the top level of a USB thumb drive named "downloaded_images".

    Download a Mio 4k compatible image.

    Place the zipped image in the "downloaded_images folder.

    Insert the USB drive into the Mio 4k.

    The Downloaded Images folder with the image is now available in TNAP Flash Image menu
     
    Martyn likes this.
  7. Titanium

    Titanium AI6US Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Posts:
    6,332
    Likes Received:
    6,505
    Location:
    Meadow Vista, Northern California
    Because TNAP is a modified SatDreamGR image and you updated online from TNAP image, the current user settings were applied.
     
    Martyn likes this.
  8. Martyn

    Martyn Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2005
    Posts:
    570
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Concord, CA
    Thanks again! I notice some include multiboot images and others don't.

    _usb.zip and _multiboot.zip file name endings.

    Should I be restricting myself to the Multiboot ones or doesn't it matter?
     
  9. SDA_FL_USA

    SDA_FL_USA SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2018
    Posts:
    96
    Likes Received:
    119
    Location:
    FL
    You can flash the usb.zip the same as multiboot zip with the downloaded_images folder.
    The usb zip contains an emmc image along with a kernel and rootfts tar file where the multiboot zip only has the kernel and rootfs tar file.
    It's easy to turn your backup created with BackupSuite into an multiboot zip with a windows PC. All you do is right click on the osmio4k folder and send to compressed zip folder.
     
    Titanium likes this.
  10. SDA_FL_USA

    SDA_FL_USA SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2018
    Posts:
    96
    Likes Received:
    119
    Location:
    FL
    The TNAP video settings are different than the latest satdreamgr -6 so you probably need to check slot 2 and see if the video settings are ok. Mine was set to 50 Hz and the video was choppy until it was set to 60 Hz.
     
    Titanium likes this.
  11. Martyn

    Martyn Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2005
    Posts:
    570
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Concord, CA
    Thanks! I figured out the 50Hz problem when my monitor starting complaining the signal was out of range. Luckily my living TV handles both 50/60 so I was able to hook it up and switch back to 60Hz and continue testing.

    I have three images on here now and I'm starting to get the hang of the way things work. A lot more time will be needed but the mystery of the first few days is slowly disappearing!

    Thanks
     

Separate names with a comma.

More...