pansat 2000v+universal lnb observation

Status
Please reply by conversation.

novice

Original poster
Jun 14, 2005
i recently purchased a winegard 30" with an invacom universal .3 db lnb. i'm using this setup with a pansat 2000v receiver. when the receiver was configured with a standard lnb setup of 10750 (even though i had the invacom plugged in), i could see fluctuations in SS and SQ. as soon as i changed the settings on the receiver to universal lnb and accepted the defaults of 9750 and 10600, SS and SQ immediately dropped to zeroes. no matter where i pointed the dish, it would stay at zero for both SS and SQ. very strange.

after fiddling with the equipment for a couple hours, i finally gave up. on a wild shot, i then hooked up the receiver to my computer via a null modem serial cable (RS232) and proceeded to upgrade the firmware. being a network administrator, i have these types of cables handy for configuring network switches and routers. the ROM version was 1.07, upgraded to 1.11 according to Pansat's upgrade utility. now the SS and SQ levels exist as they should with an lnb setting of universal. i didn't think firmware had anything to do with the receiver's compatibility to use a universal lnb since that feature was already built into the receiver's older ROM version, but this might do the trick. this receiver worked great when i had a standard lnb hooked up to it, and i'm not sure why it had fits with the universal lnb.

it's already dark outside, so i'll have to try locking in on amc4-ku tomorrow. if it works, i'll let you guys know since this might help users with other pansat models as well. by the way, i would post the URL of Pansat's software dowload page, but apparently i'm not an established member on this board yet....

Thanks for the very useful info Novice and WELCOME to the forum :wave

setup on the install should be

lnb type-universal 1
lnb freq-9750/10600 (this defaults)
22k- should have a - (this is defualt..cant change)
0/12v should be 0