Picking Up My First BirdView C-Band Dish

Status
Please reply by conversation.

allen75960

Active SatelliteGuys Member
Original poster
Jun 21, 2015
Moscow tx
I'm new to this. I do have microhd and a small dish. But I found a 10ft solid aluminum dish a few miles from my house. I'm going to pick it up tomorrow. It will probably be a few days before I can get it level and in ground. I Wanted to get some info on it and now I can't seem to remember the name. It was something bird. From the looks of it the lnb is the size of my head. Enormous. I believe the owner said they bought it around 1986 and that's the last time it was used.

Welcome to SatelliteGuys!

Post up some photos and we might have some tips to simplify the move and install. Maybe a Birdview? If so, a great dish!

If the owner still has the old receiver, grab it to move the dish until you get a better solution.

Mark everything if you need to disassemble anything on the dish. Try not to disassemble or minimize the breakdown of the reflector and mount if moving a short distance. Quite easy to lift it complete onto a trailer then set onto your new pole. Often the dish only needs to be rotated on the post without any other adjustment if the old location is close to the new home (50mile radius).

Make sure that the pole is sunk deep into an appropriate amount of cement with a welded tab/rebar or through bolt to prevent the pole from spinning in the cement.

Enjoy the install and we are here to help!

Reactions: Scott Greczkowski
I thought the name was two words second being bird. I will post some pics in morning. I live only 4 miles away so I will try my best to just take it off the pole and bring it whole. Infortunately they don't have the reciever. Will I be able to point it with geosat pro?

Welcome to SatelliteGuys allen75960!
You will not be able to move the dish with the microHD. You will need a dish mover. Either a vbox/gbox or the Titanium ASC1(Highly recommended).