Prof 7301 first time linux user driver install

Status
Please reply by conversation.

msr

Original poster
Feb 21, 2010
uk
I am new to linux and want to use prof 7301 with it. I have setup ubuntu 9.10, and am trying to install drivers. I believe you need firmware and a driver from what i was reading, to use in linux.

I see you guys have installed this card. Can anyone do a quick guide on how i install this card, as there are no official linux drivers for it. Where do i get the firmware, and how do i run the driver install exactly.

Thx in advance for any help.

There is no firmware for the Prof 7301. You need to get the DVB repository from s2-liplianin and install it. A web search should turn up several guides for doing this.

So if i find a guide to install that driver set, i am good to scan, no firmware needed, or other patching? By the way what in your opinion, what is the best dvbs2 card for starters in linux. Is dvbworld or tbs better for beginners as they have drivers supplied by the manufacturers? I have the prof 7301, and i originially brought for windows, and it works really well in it, but i would like to build a low tech htpc based on linux, which is just a satelitte box.

Pendragon i did this install, but it did not install for me.

apt-get install build-essential
apt-get install mercurial cvs subversion libncurses-dev
cd /usr/local/src
hg clone hxxp://mercurial.intuxication.org/hg/s2-liplianin/cd s2-liplianincd
cd s2-liplianin
cd linux/include/linux
ln -s /usr/src/linux-headers-`uname -r`/include/linux/
make distclean
make
make install
depmod -a
reboot
The card did not install, any ideas, i am using ubuntu 9.10. You can see from script i downloaded latest drivers there. The card is prof 7301.

The hxxp, is just for this site, as it would not let me do the address.

thx qwert got scanning now, strange, i can scan hd channels, with your tutorial link.

msr