Question regarding Directv local subchannels l

Discussion in 'DIRECTV Support Forum' started by Yragha, Apr 16, 2018.

  1. Yragha

    Yragha Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Posts:
    552
    Likes Received:
    126
    I believe I know the answer to this one but I'll ask it anyhow, how does one get local subchannels with Directv?

    Thanks

    Sent from my SGH-M919 using the SatelliteGuys app!
     
  2. raoul5788

    raoul5788 Studebaker driver
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU! Supporting Founder Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,486
    Likes Received:
    7,831
    Location:
    Cheshire CT
    You don't through Directv, but you may be able to get them with the AM21 ota tuner module. It has limited capacity for sub channels though. You are better off using the tuner in your tv.
     
  3. mdram

    mdram SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Posts:
    3,638
    Likes Received:
    543
    Location:
    Md
    you contact the channel, ask them to contact directv about carriage
     
  4. raoul5788

    raoul5788 Studebaker driver
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU! Supporting Founder Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,486
    Likes Received:
    7,831
    Location:
    Cheshire CT
    That's not going to make any difference. Locals are only carried under the must carry rules. I've never heard of a local channel carried just because customers wanted it.
     
  5. HoTat2

    HoTat2 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Posts:
    903
    Likes Received:
    226
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA.
    If you're speaking of secondary OTA subchannels, DIRECTV won't carry those at all unless one of the big 4 networks are broadcast on them.

    Sent from my LG-H918 using Tapatalk
     
  6. Don in CT

    Don in CT SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Posts:
    450
    Likes Received:
    60
    Location:
    Manchester, CT
    Doesn’t NBC own Cozi?
     
  7. raoul5788

    raoul5788 Studebaker driver
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU! Supporting Founder Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,486
    Likes Received:
    7,831
    Location:
    Cheshire CT
    Yes, but Cozi is on the subchannel here, not NBC. HoTat2 was referring to areas where NBC could be on a subchannel, then Directv would carry it.
     
  8. levibluewa

    levibluewa SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2006
    Posts:
    1,150
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    WA, OR, CA
    Although DISH carries LAFF, GET, GRIT and JUSTICE.
     
  9. raoul5788

    raoul5788 Studebaker driver
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU! Supporting Founder Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,486
    Likes Received:
    7,831
    Location:
    Cheshire CT
    They may have the bandwidth available since their sports selections are limited compared to Directv.
     
  10. edisonprime

    edisonprime SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2012
    Posts:
    1,954
    Likes Received:
    469
    Location:
    55901
    Or he could get one of the TiVo DVRs for OTA or one of the many other DVR brands that also do OTA.
     
    Jimbo likes this.
  11. Starflyr

    Starflyr Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2018
    Posts:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lynnwood, Washington
    I put up a Costco UHF antenna in my window and it's able to pull several of my local subs in with varying quality. My home is in a hole surronded by hills. A neighbor of my in a worse location (lower than me) said he's getting good reception with an outdoor antenna. I almost never need to watch them, but if I do, I just select the TV input rather than the HDMI input for my DTV.
     

Separate names with a comma.

More...