STB Receivers & cable making

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE
Status
Please reply by conversation.

ej00807

Original poster
Apr 23, 2008
I'm new to FTA but fairly an old hat with electronics and so forth.

Recently I purcahsed a FTA receiver (which is supposed the #1 selling brand right now). I had successfully set it the stb and dish and began to really, really enjoy this new experience of good, free programming. Really, it was awesome and better than cable or dish.

Anyhow, within the first week of my new hobby, I accidently triped on my RG6 line, because I hadn't fully finished the installation yet. The cable came out of the connector and shorted out, center core to outer jacket. Direct short.

To my surprise, my brand new Korean made receiver, which shall remain nameless, was damaged. Apparently the manufactured hadn't bothered to put in $2 worth of circuitry to isolate the power regulator in the event of a short.

In my opinion this is crap. Is this a common problem with set top boxes?
Does any manufacturer have good isolation, or is the best, simply not good enough for me?

Also, how can you make the best quality cable fittings that won't come apart in the even of a something like this?

The Snap 'n Seal or equivalent coax connectors will stay attached and pull down your entire stack of equipment next time you trip over the cable.
Only you can determine if that's a good thing... or a bad thing... ;)
But the connectors are the only way to go!

Another problem I've read about and avoided, is hot-connecting coax to LNBs, motors, and switches in the FTA world.
In the Dish world, you can hot-swap stuff with impunity.