Super Voom install 1/28/05

mikbro

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
Jan 20, 2005
I just wanted to share the details of my Voom install today, but first a little background:

I have been keeping an eye on this forum for the last several months, especially as it looked like Voom was nearing release of it's DVR. I have had DirecTV, Dishnetwork and a Canadian service (Starchoice) as well as C-Band in the past, but recently moved into a new apartment that only had cable.

Being a stickler for PQ I knew D* and Dish were not the way to go, I do like the Canadian service, but decided to try Voom with their 3 for 1 offer. So for $1.08 out of pocket I signed up online last week. I received confirmation emails, with an install date of 1/27 (yesterday). After reading the horror stories of installs gone bad and the fact that Voom seems to have 1.5 feet in the grave, I was not expecting anything come the day of the install. Lo and behold Kevin from Installs Inc. calls yesterday morning as he is about to leave and come to do my install. I explain that I live in a 14 story apartment building and that the dish would have to be mounted on the roof (above a service room on the roof). I told him I had my landlords permission (which I did - great landlord!). I also explained that I wanted a non-penetrating-roof-mount to avoid permanent damage to the building. No problem - he didn't have one with him, but would bring one today.

Kevin arrived this morning at 10:00am as promised and I, along with the building super walked him through the roof access, and the location of drops through the 14th floor, hallway and eventually my apt. Total length of cable ~250ft!