The OFFICIAL DISH / HBO Thread

Discussion in 'DISH Network Support Forum' started by edisonprime, Nov 18, 2018.

  1. zippyfrog

    zippyfrog SatelliteGuys Pro Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Posts:
    1,140
    Likes Received:
    439
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Yeah, and what is interesting, just like the Fox Sports RSN's with Disney soon to transition them to Sinclair, is these Tribune stations are soon going to be transitioned to Nexstar. I wish I knew the per subscriber cost for WGN9 in Chicago - it has to drop in carriage fee since the Cubs, White Sox, Hawks, and Bulls will all be leaving WGN at the same time. They can't possibly be asking more for WGN9.
     
    TheKrell and crodrules like this.
  2. crodrules

    crodrules The Happy Pessimist

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2014
    Posts:
    4,557
    Likes Received:
    3,369
    Location:
    North Central Ohio
    That is a good point, and it may explain why Dish is apparently in no hurry to reach a deal with any of these stations, as they can simply wait for the new owner to take over, and then deal with the new owner instead.
     
  3. JSheridan

    JSheridan Full Time Resident Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Posts:
    8,406
    Likes Received:
    9,064
    Location:
    USA
    The new owner is going to be Nexstar who's 100+ channels are currently blacked out on DirecTV. :(
     
    HipKat, crodrules and charlesrshell like this.
  4. bobvick

    bobvick Pub Member / Supporter Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Posts:
    4,393
    Likes Received:
    2,124
    Location:
    Northwest Alabama
    Pretty soon Dish nor DirecTV is going to have any channels left, with all these disputes. I guess DirecTV can have the old Time-Warner channels left, if AT&T doesn't get in a dispute with itself. :)
     
    JSheridan and crodrules like this.
  5. charlesrshell

    charlesrshell SatelliteGuys Crazy Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    8,323
    Likes Received:
    3,164
    Location:
    O'Fallon, IL 62269
    LQQK, the HBO app works good on our Fire Stick. Watching Hard Knocks now.
     
  6. crodrules

    crodrules The Happy Pessimist

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2014
    Posts:
    4,557
    Likes Received:
    3,369
    Location:
    North Central Ohio
    Yes, but they are still on good terms with Dish, right? (at the moment, anyway) ;)
     
    JSheridan likes this.
  7. charlesrshell

    charlesrshell SatelliteGuys Crazy Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    8,323
    Likes Received:
    3,164
    Location:
    O'Fallon, IL 62269
    When I watch HBO Hard Knocks thru my 4K FireStick the picture is awesome. It is running 2160p. When I watch Hard Knocks thru my LG UHD TV HBO app the picture is a little softer, not quit as good. It is running 1080p. Why the different resolutions between my FireStick and LG TV app?
     
  8. Tampa8

    Tampa8 Supporting Founder Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Posts:
    17,558
    Likes Received:
    6,789
    Location:
    Tampa/Eastern Ct
    I would say either the HBO app does not support 2160 or it is incorrectly reading the internet band width available. The 4K FireStick produces probably the best 4K I get streaming.
     
    ncted and charlesrshell like this.
  9. Bobby

    Bobby Publican Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    56,789
    Likes Received:
    10,228
    Location:
    Rohnert Park, CA
    The Firestick is upconverting the original signal to 2160. If you try other apps on the Firestick you will see that all of them are upconverted. Apple TV 4K is the same way.
     
    charlesrshell likes this.
  10. charlesrshell

    charlesrshell SatelliteGuys Crazy Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    8,323
    Likes Received:
    3,164
    Location:
    O'Fallon, IL 62269
    Thanks Tampa8. I have both my 4K FireStick and LG TV connected to the Internet by Ethernet cable. Do you know of a way I can check why my TV or TV app may not be reading the Internet correctly? There is definitely a difference in the pic quality. FireStick is awesome compared to the LG TV.
     
  11. charlesrshell

    charlesrshell SatelliteGuys Crazy Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    8,323
    Likes Received:
    3,164
    Location:
    O'Fallon, IL 62269
    Wonder why my LG TV is not up converting the signal!
     
  12. Bobby

    Bobby Publican Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    56,789
    Likes Received:
    10,228
    Location:
    Rohnert Park, CA
    Your LG is passing the original signal but what you see on the screen is already upconverted to 2160. Keep in mind what your TV is showing when you look at the signal is whatever is coming into the TV, what goes out is always upconverted or natural if that signal is already 2160. The TV doesn't know, or care, that the Firestick signal is upconverted it simply thinks that the signal is naturally 2160.
     
    charlesrshell likes this.
  13. ncted

    ncted SatelliteGuys Pro Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Posts:
    4,306
    Likes Received:
    2,887
    Location:
    Durham, NC
    Both are upconverting 1080i/p, but it sounds like the Firestick 4K's video processor is tuned for a sharper image when it does the interpolation.
     
    Cheddar_Head and charlesrshell like this.
  14. charlesrshell

    charlesrshell SatelliteGuys Crazy Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    8,323
    Likes Received:
    3,164
    Location:
    O'Fallon, IL 62269
    So, I guess the issue is with the LG TV Prime Video app. So what can I do to get a better app like what my 4K FireStick has.
     
  15. Bobby

    Bobby Publican Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    56,789
    Likes Received:
    10,228
    Location:
    Rohnert Park, CA
    You can do nothing. The Firestick has some magic that it does as many peripherals like AppleTV and Roku do but the TV doesn't. The TV wasn't designed to do it...
     
    navychop and charlesrshell like this.
  16. charlesrshell

    charlesrshell SatelliteGuys Crazy Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    8,323
    Likes Received:
    3,164
    Location:
    O'Fallon, IL 62269
    Thanks Bobby.
     
  17. Tampa8

    Tampa8 Supporting Founder Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Posts:
    17,558
    Likes Received:
    6,789
    Location:
    Tampa/Eastern Ct
    I can't agree with that in all cases especially 4k. It is very possible the 4K stick is not upconverting and is giving what it is getting, 4k while the app is not giving 4K.
    For quite sometime after I first got my Samsung 4K TV (Great PQ btw) the Amazon app was getting 4K from Amazon as it should. But about 15 seconds after starting it would always go back to 1080. It was a problem finally fixed in an upodate in getting the App to correctly see the bandwidth. So the TV was not showing the 4K that was coming in because the app made it 1080. Yes the TV was upconverting to 2160 that part is true but of course that makes it softer than getting an actual 2160 signal..
    It was showing 1080 upconverted to 2160 rather than actually getting 2160 and showing it. Meanwhile as soon as I got the 4K stick I had 4K because it correctly saw enough bandwidth for 4K and passed it on to the TV.

    I can't say that is the reason in this case but it is a reason for the difference. And apps are not always updated. To this day for my model Samsung the Epix App is only 1080 while some other Epix Apps have been updated to 4K.
     
    crodrules and charlesrshell like this.
  18. ncted

    ncted SatelliteGuys Pro Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Posts:
    4,306
    Likes Received:
    2,887
    Location:
    Durham, NC
    At least on my Sony UHD TV, the Firestick outputs 2160p for all content, so it must be upconverting. Obviously, charlesrshell should confirm the TV sees the resolution from the Firestick as 2160p.

    As for what is going on inside the TV, I have no idea. It could be that the app delivers 1080p to the TV and the video processor upconverts it, or it could be the app upconverts the 1080p to 2160p, or maybe something else.
     
    charlesrshell likes this.
  19. charlesrshell

    charlesrshell SatelliteGuys Crazy Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    8,323
    Likes Received:
    3,164
    Location:
    O'Fallon, IL 62269
    So is there anything I can try Tampa8? I know there is a procedure to delete and re-install apps for the LG TV. Do you think I should I try that?
     
  20. Tampa8

    Tampa8 Supporting Founder Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Posts:
    17,558
    Likes Received:
    6,789
    Location:
    Tampa/Eastern Ct
    The 4K Stick only outputs 2160 for all content if you tell it to. Otherwise you can pick or let it pick. Having it set to 2160 does not make it 2160 of course unless the material is 2160. What ever he has it set to with the app being a softer picture the most logical reason is one is giving the TV 4K and one is not. That does not rule out some other problem with the App. Doubtful the Stick is just that much better at producing 4K but anything is possible.

    If there is an update for the app the TV should tell you that in the app section. I have doubts there is anything you can do if I am correct and the app simply is not passing 4K. You can delete it and reinstall I guess. Maybe go to Avsfourm and find your model and see if others are talking about it.
     
    charlesrshell likes this.

Separate names with a comma.

More...