Titanium ASC1.....................................in Blue!

Discussion in 'Free To Air (FTA) Discussion' started by KE4EST, Jun 17, 2015.

  1. KE4EST

    KE4EST Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Is My Second Home
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Posts:
    23,936
    Likes Received:
    4,243
    Location:
    EM75xb
    Well finally got around today to refurbishing a returned ASC1.
    -Just an over tightened screw in the back.

    While I was at it, I could not resist to customize it, just a little. :)

    ASC-1 Blue.jpg
     
    #1 KE4EST, Jun 17, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2015
    martin-f and Titanium like this.
  2. wallyhts

    wallyhts SatelliteGuys Pro
    HERE TO HELP YOU! Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Posts:
    3,063
    Likes Received:
    314
    Cool, More geek details please :)
     
  3. Magic Static

    Magic Static FTA Geek
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU! Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Posts:
    6,138
    Likes Received:
    2,968
    Location:
    Montana
    Neat, I thought about putting in a white display :)
     
  4. KE4EST

    KE4EST Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Is My Second Home
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Posts:
    23,936
    Likes Received:
    4,243
    Location:
    EM75xb
    Yep that is what I did was change out the display.
    Just had to solder on a row of header pins and plug it in.
     
    martin-f likes this.
  5. Titanium

    Titanium AI6US
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Posts:
    5,519
    Likes Received:
    4,804
    Location:
    Meadow Vista, Northern California
    Looks great!

    Is this the limited edition ASC1 "ICE" series? :)

    I am working on a project with the ASC1 and a 5" LCD touch screen.
     
    martin-f likes this.
  6. wallyhts

    wallyhts SatelliteGuys Pro
    HERE TO HELP YOU! Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Posts:
    3,063
    Likes Received:
    314
    \

    Will that fit in the current case? Sounds pretty cool hopefully you share some pics when your ready :)
     
  7. Titanium

    Titanium AI6US
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Posts:
    5,519
    Likes Received:
    4,804
    Location:
    Meadow Vista, Northern California
    Fits now... LOL!

    No, the touch screen did not fit the factory display opening.
     
  8. Cham

    Cham VE4GLS
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Posts:
    2,041
    Likes Received:
    586
    Location:
    Boonies
    A bigger screen would be nice, I find I have to get off the couch to read the screen if changing any of the settings... :)
     
    goaliebob99 and dougruss like this.
  9. KE4EST

    KE4EST Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Is My Second Home
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Posts:
    23,936
    Likes Received:
    4,243
    Location:
    EM75xb
    What did you use to make the hole bigger? Dremel tool or similar?
     
  10. Titanium

    Titanium AI6US
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Posts:
    5,519
    Likes Received:
    4,804
    Location:
    Meadow Vista, Northern California
    I used my wallet. I wanted it done right so gave the job to a local fab shop with a template. :)
     
    Babadem and SatPhreak like this.
  11. KE4EST

    KE4EST Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Is My Second Home
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Posts:
    23,936
    Likes Received:
    4,243
    Location:
    EM75xb
    Ah now that is the way!
     
  12. hitek

    hitek Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2018
    Posts:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Berbice
    Hi Brian
    I have an ASC1 and works great but have to get close to view the screen.
    How can I get a larger screen or even information in fixing a larger one

    Thanks
     
  13. primestar31

    primestar31 SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Posts:
    6,594
    Likes Received:
    2,590
    Location:
    Beta Omicron Delta III
    Here's the FAST cheap way: 3D Enlarged Screen Mobile Phone Amplifier Magnifier Bracket Cellphone Holder | eBay

    Replacing the lcd screen with a larger one by unsoldering - soldering is probably possible, but could damage things if you aren't sure what you are doing. Try the magnifier screen above first.

    Full Page Magnifying Sheet Fresnel Lens 3X Magnification Reading Aid 7 x 10.25" | eBay

    If you want something even larger, Google: "Fresnel Lens" .
     
    martin-f, norman881 and FTA4PA like this.
  14. FTA4PA

    FTA4PA Satellite Guys Family
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2013
    Posts:
    3,275
    Likes Received:
    1,344
    Location:
    Central Pennsylvania
    That's pretty cool! Could possibly be used for many things. Thanks for posting!
     
    martin-f likes this.
  15. primestar31

    primestar31 SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Posts:
    6,594
    Likes Received:
    2,590
    Location:
    Beta Omicron Delta III
    FTA4PA likes this.
  16. hitek

    hitek Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2018
    Posts:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Berbice
    Thanks a lot Mike for your help. I never really think about it in this way. A good idea.
    But you know what I should have mentioned that I am an electronic technician for over forty years so if there is a way to change the screen I think can handle that
    Thanks anyway.
     
  17. KE4EST

    KE4EST Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Is My Second Home
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Posts:
    23,936
    Likes Received:
    4,243
    Location:
    EM75xb
    It uses a standard HD44780 20X4 LCD display.
     
  18. hitek

    hitek Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2018
    Posts:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Berbice
    Thanks KE4EST
     
  19. Lone Gunman

    Lone Gunman SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Posts:
    2,864
    Likes Received:
    624
    Location:
    southeast
    THAT is the reason I still have my Bridgeport Mill!! Gotta love it when a plan comes together!!
     
    martin-f and KE4EST like this.
  20. Magic Static

    Magic Static FTA Geek
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU! Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Posts:
    6,138
    Likes Received:
    2,968
    Location:
    Montana
    Wish I had a mill. Right now I'm carving out a new front panel for an ASC1 box by hand. ;) But that ASC1 case is an amazing box. You can replace the front and rear panels in it real simple. I bought a length of 3-1/2" wide 1/8th" thick aluminium strap for scrap price and have made a dozen blank ASC1 panels. Fits perfectly even though the originals were cast aluminum. :)
     
    martin-f likes this.

Separate names with a comma.

More...