OTHER Universal LNB - Linear - on a DISH NET 1000.2 dish

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE

T.J.M.

Well-Known SatelliteGuys Member
Original poster
Feb 11, 2017
Michigan
Hi Everybody,

I am brand new to the fta arena and have some questions. First though I will list my current setup.

• Dish network 1000.2 dish (I measured this across and it was 25")
  • iSmart F1 hd fta receiver
  • X2- Full HD KU Single Universal LNB "0.1 DB"
I am in the Michigan area and I seem to get good signals with fair quality (0-60%) the universal lnb however I was unable to pick up any "FTA" channels. Today was cloudy though and I have read that using a smaller than 30" dish it is more likely a novelty and will only work on clear days.

Anyway questions are here:

1) After I failed to get any FTA channels, I switched the rg6 cable back to my dish network receiver (I am a paid subscriber currently) and surprisingly my one lnb was able to pull in all 3 dish satellites (110, 119 and 129). If that is the case, what is the reason the dish 1000.2 has 3 lnb's on it? Is it just to help ensure better potential to hit all 3 satellites?

2) Is it normal for a universal linear lnb to be able to pick up dish network signals and send them to the dish network receiver ? just seems odd to me that this worked and everything i have read said the dish network lnb's are circular polarity and not linear.