Upgrading a c-band dish / with polarity control.

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE
Status
Please reply by conversation.

jrother

Original poster
Aug 15, 2011
Midwest USA
Hi Folks,

I just moved into a new home that has a C-band dish set up and working. It's a 6ft Chaparrel with a servo controlled C-band only feed horn. I replaced the inexpensive LNB it had with a Norsat, and it gets great signals. I'm limited to this one dish. It came with the house, and is grandfathered in. My area won't allow any new dishes larger that a DBS dish.

I'm an RF engineer for a state wide radio network, so I have a need to monitor my narrow band commercial feed uplinks on AMC1 Ku.

I would like to convert this dish to where I can use it for my FTA hobby, but still be able to use it for monitoring my uplinks. The problem is I need to use a Ku LNB that is 10Khz stable, and units like the DMX741 don't meet the need. In addition, AMC1 Ku is currently skewed about 21 degrees from everything else.

Ive been looking at replacing the feed horn with something like a Chaparral Corotor II+ , and use the higher stability Norsat LNBs that I already have (the Norsats are single polarity LNBs).