1. Another Team Summit in the books!

    Thanks to the generosity of a number of our members SatelliteGuys will be covering DISH Networks Team Summit Event from Phoenix, Arizona!

    CLICK HERE for our Team Summit 2019 Coverage!

    CLICK HERE to see our 2019 DISH Team Summit Recap Video! Thanks for being part of SatelliteGuys!
    CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE
    Dismiss Notice

Xfinity is flagging Satellite Guys as a questionable site

Discussion in 'Free To Air (FTA) Discussion' started by rgk, Jan 31, 2019.

  1. rgk

    rgk Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Posts:
    206
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Caledonia,MI
    I called. They said I won't get the message any longer. The customer rep said it was because the site streams data and it was possibly to prevent the account from exceeding my data limit. Strange since Netflix, Hulu, and Amazon worked without any pop ups. When I pointed this out the rep. hung up.
     
  2. harshness

    harshness SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Posts:
    15,012
    Likes Received:
    2,022
    Location:
    Salem, OR
    Maybe satelliteguys.us is the first place you visit each day?

    I wonder where they get the idea that there is any streaming content homed here? Do they show movies or games in The Pub?

    Netflix, Amazon and Hulu probably have contracts with Comcast to get paid priority status with respect to streaming video so maybe that's why you don't get nagged there.

    You should probably check your bandwidth usage so you can be certain that Comcast is blowing smoke:

    XFINITY | My Account | EcoBill® Online Bill Pay

    (The link is supposed to take you to your usage meter after you log in)
     
  3. Scott Greczkowski

    Scott Greczkowski Scanning the Skies!
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    97,213
    Likes Received:
    12,896
    Location:
    Newington, Connecticut
    We stream nothing.

    We use to have SatelliteGuys Radio a few years ago but that was run off a different server. :D
     
  4. rgk

    rgk Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Posts:
    206
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Caledonia,MI
    Definitely never the first site. I've always gotten a warning message in the past when monthly data usage reaches 90% and 100%. After 100% there is an additional fee billed for each 50G.
     
  5. primestar31

    primestar31 SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Posts:
    7,991
    Likes Received:
    4,193
    Location:
    Beta Omicron Delta III
    Probably just one of many helpdesk CSR "BS" responses in that CSR's memory that they give out when not positive what really caused the issue, just to get the end-user off the phone quickly.
     
  6. rgk

    rgk Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Posts:
    206
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Caledonia,MI
    That would be my guess as well. I enjoy the performance boost after switching from AT&T DSL. It was a chore getting them to show up for the connect. It took multiple calls and hours on hold. I still get an error anytime I go to the web site and click on the my account tab after four months and untold phone calls. There is a reason Comcast has the reputation they have for customer service.
     
  7. MosFET77

    MosFET77 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2016
    Posts:
    460
    Likes Received:
    139
    Location:
    Helenwood, Tennessee
    WHAT??? LOL
     
  8. KE4EST

    KE4EST SatelliteGuys Is My Second Home
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Posts:
    24,380
    Likes Received:
    4,724
    Location:
    EM75xb
    :imshocked:crying2
     
    beavs2112 likes this.
  9. larry55

    larry55 SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Posts:
    1,150
    Likes Received:
    100
    Location:
    dothan al
    Fine here.
     
  10. rgk

    rgk Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Posts:
    206
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Caledonia,MI
    Wasn't intended as an insult, just being factual. I'm a long time user\fan of the site. It has been a great resource for FTA education.
     
  11. Magic Static

    Magic Static FTA Geek
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU! Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Posts:
    6,555
    Likes Received:
    3,535
    Location:
    Montana
    I noticed in the warning you posted the URL you are using is Satelliteguys.com which would be redirected to Satelliteguys.us .Maybe you need to make a new shortcut?
     
    beavs2112 and Radioguy41 like this.
  12. KE4EST

    KE4EST SatelliteGuys Is My Second Home
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Posts:
    24,380
    Likes Received:
    4,724
    Location:
    EM75xb
    Oh just joking around with you! :D
     
    beavs2112 likes this.
  13. Radioguy41

    Radioguy41 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Posts:
    1,413
    Likes Received:
    791
    Location:
    Lehighton, Pennsylvania
    Are you using a VPN by any chance?
     
  14. rgk

    rgk Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Posts:
    206
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Caledonia,MI
    Nope, not using a VPN. Problem was resolved after calling Xfinity support.
     

Separate names with a comma.

More...