1. Another Team Summit in the books!

    Thanks to the generosity of a number of our members SatelliteGuys will be covering DISH Networks Team Summit Event from Phoenix, Arizona!

    CLICK HERE for our Team Summit 2019 Coverage!

    CLICK HERE to see our 2019 DISH Team Summit Recap Video! Thanks for being part of SatelliteGuys!
    CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE
    Dismiss Notice

Frustrated by numerous program guide issues

Discussion in 'DISH Network Support Forum' started by BostonMA, Jun 27, 2018.

  1. jollygrunt

    jollygrunt Arsenal Fan
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Posts:
    306
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    I wasn’t able to record episodes 3 and 4 of pd cam last week even though it was the only show set to record at that time. Also, I had a recording of Justice league on hbo that was set to record overnight that was completely skipped over for no reason that I could determine.
     
  2. jerryez

    jerryez Supporting Founder
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Posts:
    4,218
    Likes Received:
    677
    Location:
    Pensacola,FL
    I went to watch my new episode of American Pickers last Tuesday and it did not record. When I looked thru my timers, the HWS had deleted the timer. I had to set up a new timer, but missed that episode.
     
  3. wormil

    wormil SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Posts:
    310
    Likes Received:
    124
    Location:
    North Carolina
    I just realized Animal Kingdom didn't record on the 31st. The bad thing is that even if you check the timers every week, they can be fine one day and not fire the day of the episode.
     
  4. bnewt

    bnewt SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Posts:
    1,083
    Likes Received:
    175
    Location:
    Shepherdsville, Ky
    TNT programming & guide info were different yesterday
     
  5. BostonMA

    BostonMA Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Posts:
    72
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Boston, Massachusetts
    As I continued to look at this issue, it appears that all programs listed more than once in the guide are treated as series with a default to record all new programs. Then they are all treated as new. One resolution is to make sure to change the default to record once.
     
  6. BostonMA

    BostonMA Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Posts:
    72
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Boston, Massachusetts
    Dish needs to take some action to have the provider to clean up the program guide. Many entries have incorrect data and now I am seeing a lot of entries with only a name and no info whatsoever.
     
    HipKat likes this.
  7. BostonMA

    BostonMA Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Posts:
    72
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Boston, Massachusetts
    I am considering starting a new thread on shows cutting of the last couple of minutes. It has been an issue forever, but seems to happen much more frequently even when you add time at the end.

    When I record Shooter on USA, I get 2 minutes of the previous program at the beginning and have to make up on the end. With an VIP612 I don't have the luxury of doing this for every program.

    If I start a new thread maybe we could figure out some of the reasons. Is it more prevalent on certain channels. With OTA channels is it due to satellite delay? Does anyone think it is worth the effort?
     
  8. HipKat

    HipKat SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2017
    Posts:
    4,572
    Likes Received:
    7,417
    Location:
    Pekin, IL
    I've just washed my hands of it. While I was in Ohio, the timer for Rachel Maddow just disappeared. Naked and Afraid has 2 folders. Some are listed as Season 8, Episode 1, 2, 3, etc. Some are listed as Episode 295, 296, etc and all intermingled in both folders, which makes no sense. But the thing I've hated the most is that they ALL say the date they recorded was the first date they aired and half of them are repeats from past seasons making "Only New" useless, plus I think it skipped American Chopper and Deadliest Catch last week
     
    TheKrell and navychop like this.
  9. navychop

    navychop Member of the Month - July 2014!
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Posts:
    46,239
    Likes Received:
    11,209
    Location:
    Northern VA
    Yep. It seems most if not all Dr. Pol shows are labeled as New when they aren’t.


    Sent from my iPhone using the SatelliteGuys app!
     
  10. wormil

    wormil SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Posts:
    310
    Likes Received:
    124
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Then I would have to create a new timer every week. No, I just delete the extra recording. As things go, it's minor compared to other problems.
     
    crodrules likes this.
  11. wormil

    wormil SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Posts:
    310
    Likes Received:
    124
    Location:
    North Carolina
    I had it set to record the last episode of S3, Better Call Saul, so I could re-watch it, of course it didn't record.
     
  12. wormil

    wormil SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Posts:
    310
    Likes Received:
    124
    Location:
    North Carolina
    And I had to make another timer for Battlebots this week. History, Discovery, shows get it the worst.
     
  13. boba

    boba SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2003
    Posts:
    11,295
    Likes Received:
    989
    Location:
    Dorchester, TX.
    It's DISH Hopper what do you expect. Maybe it's time to find some used VIP DVRs.
     
    TheKrell and crodrules like this.
  14. crodrules

    crodrules The Happy Pessimist

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2014
    Posts:
    4,334
    Likes Received:
    3,166
    Location:
    North Central Ohio
    Does anyone want a ViP612? I still have one left.
     
  15. BostonMA

    BostonMA Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Posts:
    72
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Boston, Massachusetts
    When I wrote the following, I was referring to new timers for one time programs that are repeated.
    As I continued to look at this issue, it appears that all programs listed more than once in the guide are treated as series with a default to record all new programs. Then they are all treated as new. One resolution is to make sure to change the default to record once.
     
  16. BostonMA

    BostonMA Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Posts:
    72
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Boston, Massachusetts
    I am using a VIP612 DVR and having the same issues
     
    TNGTony likes this.
  17. WALLYWOMBAT

    WALLYWOMBAT SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    Posts:
    44
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    84065
    same with a VIP722K
     
    TNGTony likes this.
  18. HipKat

    HipKat SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2017
    Posts:
    4,572
    Likes Received:
    7,417
    Location:
    Pekin, IL
    Because it's not the receivers, it's the Program Guide Meta-data, if you ask me
     
    joegr, navychop, TheKrell and 2 others like this.
  19. wormil

    wormil SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Posts:
    310
    Likes Received:
    124
    Location:
    North Carolina
    For one off shows the default is record once. If it says record all the guide data is messed up for that show.
     
    TheKrell likes this.
  20. Jim S.

    Jim S. When someone asks you if you're a god, you say yes
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    5,022
    Likes Received:
    464
    Location:
    FN11od
    The finale of Face Off on SyFy didn't record tonight. I realized it about 15 minutes into the show and pulled up the program info. It had all the usual information including the correct date, season, and episode number, but for some reason it wasn't marked "new".

    What the hell is going on at Dish that they think this is acceptable? Fixing this mess should be priority #1! Someone needs to be raising hell all the way up the ladder to Charlie himself if need be. How many employees does Dish have? Are ANY of them doing ANYTHING to address this problem? I can only assume they aren't. Meanwhile, I'm paying over $100 a month for a product that fails to perform as advertised! This sort of behavior should be criminal!
     
    joegr, BostonMA, wormil and 2 others like this.

Separate names with a comma.

More...