FTA Newbie wants to watch Italian TV from Austin TX

Status
Please reply by conversation.

Angus Vaquero

Original poster
Jul 30, 2009
Austin, TX
Hello!

I am a newbie to FTA. In fact I have yet to purchase any equipment so I am looking for suggestions from you, the experienced experts.

Specially I want to watch Italian TV as a tool to learning Italian and for the culture. I live in an HOA neighborhood so the dish has to located out of view from the front of the house. It is a 2 story house.

The house faces geographically South with a clear view to the horizon. The location is
LATITUDE N30 29.968
Longitude W97 50.455

I have a great deal of experience with shortwave radio prior to the internet and computers made that simple. So I am used to tinkinger with the receive dials, etc.

Any recommendations you could provide would be greatly appreciated. If anyone lives near Austin TX and can recommend an installer I would really like that info as well.

Thanks a lot

Italian

Hello Angus.

You should be able to get some limited Italian programming FTA.
Galaxy19 @ 97°W has (1) Tele Padre Pio and (2) Telepace.
Intelsat 3R @ 43°W has (1) Telefoggia.

I haven't seen Telefoggia because it's out of my range -- trees are in the way. Of the two programs on Galaxy 19, I only watch Telepace on occasion, but it probably has enough interesting material for language learning purposes. A standard FTA receiver and a 31, 33 or 36-inch dish should be good for reliable reception. The site sponsors can point you in the right direction.