Hdmi ?

Status
Please reply by conversation.

Ghost

Active SatelliteGuys Member
Original poster
Jan 15, 2005
I was just wondering, is there any difference in HDMI cables? I can get one from Circuit City for $140 (Monster Cable)or I can get a Phillips for $40? Both look flimsy and neither have screws to keep it attached like on a computer monitor. Is there any difference other than the $100?

Its not worth it with D* HDLITE. The picture is so bad the cable isnt going to matter. IF anything, better cables are only going to show the PQ flaws more clearly.

vurbano said:
Its not worth it with D* HDLITE. The picture is so bad the cable isnt going to matter. IF anything, better cables are only going to show the PQ flaws more clearly.

Nice productive response Vurbano. I don't think the post had anything to do with HD Lite. Just another reminder of your one track mind. To respond to the question, I am not an expert but I have read numerous posts that the cables you describe would give you the same results. Please, someone correct me if I am wrong.

FlyingJ said:
Nice productive response Vurbano. I don't think the post had anything to do with HD Lite. Just another reminder of your one track mind. To respond to the question, I am not an expert but I have read numerous posts that the cables you describe would give you the same results. Please, someone correct me if I am wrong.

You are right, in both parts of your response. Two good suppliers are www.svideo.com and www.monoprice.com.

Ghost said:
I was just wondering, is there any difference in HDMI cables? I can get one from Circuit City for $140 (Monster Cable)or I can get a Phillips for $40? Both look flimsy and neither have screws to keep it attached like on a computer monitor. Is there any difference other than the $100?
I passed on the $140 cable from Circuit City and bought a $24 cable on Amazon. The HDMI picture is perfect and the surround sound is perfect with the $24.00 HDMI cable.