Lost at "C"

Status
Please reply by conversation.

Bloorp

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
Apr 4, 2009
Arkansas
Pardon my ignorance but I am new to the BUD world. I have a 12' SAMI mesh dish that was here when I bought the house. With DTV just over the horizon and no channels predicted to serve my area I picked up a GI DSR 920 in hopes I could get at least something. I connected the receiver and cannot get anything. The dish actuator is working and I set the limits without a problem. The receiver came from California and I am in Arkansas so do I have to reset something? Also don't know where the dish was pointed when the previous owners disconnected their equipment. Any help would be appreciated !

PS: The unit ID is still good

Did you program in the satellites and set polarity to your location?? If not start there.

Followed instructions and still nothing. DC light is also off. Maybe I need to hire a pro for this initial setup? Checked wiring and all is OK from dish to receiver.

You will only get a DC light when Locked on a DC Signal.
In the 4DTV, select Sat G1, Channel 5.
Drive the Dish to the West Limit, then slowly Drive back East, the channel "Classic Arts" should show.

Check in the system info and make sure the receiver has not had the battery die. In the 922 the 1st three numbers of the unit will be 000, it also should match the numbers on the back of the unit. Maybe one of the 920 guys can verify that it is the same. Even if the battery is dead you should still get the analog channels (between 1 and 24). Tune to an analog channel (G1-5 is a place to start) and then bump the dish east and west with the receiver until you have signal quality.