New OTA adapter

Discussion in 'DIRECTV Support Forum' started by rad, Aug 16, 2018.

  1. mdram

    mdram SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Posts:
    3,873
    Likes Received:
    668
    Location:
    Md
    anything new on this?
     
  2. HoTat2

    HoTat2 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Posts:
    1,047
    Likes Received:
    267
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA.
    Nope ...

    Under AT&T's regime with their new closed field testing system limited only to select AT&T employees who are obviously under strict NDAs combined with the usual bevy of clueless CSRs.

    Causes any real info. to be few and far between.

    In fact, if KyL416 hadn't stumbled upon that LCC webpage awhile back, that was probably published just for the field testers right now.

    We wouldn't even have that much information about it.

    Sent from my LG-H932 using Tapatalk
     
    whitewolf8214 likes this.
  3. mdram

    mdram SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Posts:
    3,873
    Likes Received:
    668
    Location:
    Md
    i thought it was in limited release, not testing.
     
    whitewolf8214 likes this.
  4. HoTat2

    HoTat2 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Posts:
    1,047
    Likes Received:
    267
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA.
    That's what I once thought ...

    But certainly some of the subscribers in Las Vegas or SLC would have said something by now here and/or on dbstalk.

    And if it were only select longtime subscribers in those markets under NDA, like under the old pre-AT&T field testing method. Surely we would have a "First Look" review document published on iamanedgecutter.com or something by now.

    Sent from my LG-H932 using Tapatalk
     
  5. slice1900

    slice1900 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2015
    Posts:
    931
    Likes Received:
    367
    Location:
    IA
    Are there any dbstalk or satelliteguys regulars from LV or SLC? If not, even if it is available to anyone in those markets we wouldn't hear anything back. Even if there are, they'd have to read the threads to find out the LCC even exists to know to call Directv and order it.
     
  6. rad

    rad Topic Starter Supporting Founder Supporting Founder Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    9,124
    Likes Received:
    2,021
    Location:
    Dripping Springs, TX
    I wonder if any local dealers in SLC or LAS would be able to get any and sell them?
     
    whitewolf8214 likes this.
  7. whitewolf8214

    whitewolf8214 SatelliteGuys Master Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    Posts:
    40,208
    Likes Received:
    760
    Location:
    Space
    Probably eventually or soon :biggrin
     
  8. hancox

    hancox Pub Member / UConnaholic Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2003
    Posts:
    3,562
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Monroe, CT
    Has anyone tried a non-LCC USB OTA dongle? I don't have one handy, but probably have one in the back of a box. I'm just wondering if there is anything "special" on the LCC that identifies it.
     
    whitewolf8214 likes this.
  9. slice1900

    slice1900 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2015
    Posts:
    931
    Likes Received:
    367
    Location:
    IA
    I wondered that for the AM21 once - i.e. buy a USB OTA dongle using the same chip with the same USB ID and it "should" work. When I plugged an AM21 into my laptop, it had a USB identifier string that listed "Directv", so I am guessing the ID (8 hex digits) was probably uniquely assigned to Directv so I never looked further. When someone gets the OTA dongle, they can try plugging it into a PC and see what USB ID it uses, and see one can buy something with the same ID on the net.

    Randomly trying any old USB OTA adapter won't work - they will have a driver for a specific one and have no reason to include drivers for ones they don't use. Since Directv equipment runs Linux, it would most likely be one that's supported by the Linux kernel (though not guaranteed, their supplier could provide them a closed source driver)
     
  10. mike mike

    mike mike New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2018
    Posts:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ithaca, ny
    I wonder how any of this stuff works when the atsc 3.0 rollout happens . will the am21 work at all at that point?
     
  11. mdram

    mdram SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Posts:
    3,873
    Likes Received:
    668
    Location:
    Md
    nope
     
  12. mike mike

    mike mike New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2018
    Posts:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ithaca, ny
    so will the LCC work?
     
  13. mdram

    mdram SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Posts:
    3,873
    Likes Received:
    668
    Location:
    Md
    no clue whats in it or what standards it uses
     
  14. mike mike

    mike mike New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2018
    Posts:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ithaca, ny
    it would be fascinating to come out with new hardware that doesnt support the new standard though
     
  15. mdram

    mdram SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Posts:
    3,873
    Likes Received:
    668
    Location:
    Md
    it would need to work with atsc2 and atsc 3

    are there any atsc 3 tuners on the market?
     
  16. raoul5788

    raoul5788 Studebaker driver Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU! Supporting Founder Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Posts:
    27,790
    Likes Received:
    11,079
    Location:
    Cheshire CT
    :welcome to Satelliteguys mike mike!
     
  17. slice1900

    slice1900 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2015
    Posts:
    931
    Likes Received:
    367
    Location:
    IA
    The way the ATSC 3.0 rollout is planned, stations will be required to keep their ATSC 1.0 signals around (but no requirement about quality or HD AFAIK) which they will do via channel sharing. So if you have five full power stations in your area, you might see two of them go ATSC 3.0 and the three remaining ones will carry the channels of the stations that went ATSC 3.0. There hasn't been any plan yet for if/when they will allow stations to drop ATSC 1.0 completely, but suffice to say that day would be many years away.
     
  18. slice1900

    slice1900 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2015
    Posts:
    931
    Likes Received:
    367
    Location:
    IA
    It is almost certainly ATSC 1.0. Presumably they'd introduce an ATSC 3.0 LCC in the future, assuming they were going to continue supporting the LCC (with Directv you never know)
     
  19. slice1900

    slice1900 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2015
    Posts:
    931
    Likes Received:
    367
    Location:
    IA
    There are no ATSC 2 broadcasts, there is only 1.0 and 3.0. AFAIK there aren't any ATSC 3.0 chips for the open market yet. South Korea is already using ATSC 3.0 in a couple cities, and supposedly some TVs sold for that market include a pre-standard ATSC 3.0 tuner.

    I don't know for sure that every part of the standard is finalized yet. It may have just happened recently, or be about to happen.
     
  20. mdram

    mdram SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Posts:
    3,873
    Likes Received:
    668
    Location:
    Md
    forgot they skipped from 1 to 3

    i was thinking 1 was the old analog, and 2 was the current digital

    thats what i get for thinking
     

Separate names with a comma.

More...