New OTA adapter

Discussion in 'DIRECTV Support Forum' started by rad, Aug 16, 2018.

  1. HoTat2

    HoTat2 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Posts:
    1,039
    Likes Received:
    262
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA.
    I actually never really understood what ATSC 2.0 would have done over ATSC 1.0 to even make it a legitimate 2nd version.

    Little wonder it was never implemented...

    Sent from my LG-H932 using Tapatalk
     
  2. slice1900

    slice1900 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2015
    Posts:
    909
    Likes Received:
    355
    Location:
    IA
    I think the main 'feature' of 2.0 was related to picking it up on mobile devices, and there was no interest in that. That's part of 3.0 also, but despite some early mention it is hardly talked about now - I think the powers that be have finally realized there isn't a huge pent-up demand for watching live broadcast TV on smartphones.
     
  3. mdram

    mdram SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Posts:
    3,873
    Likes Received:
    668
    Location:
    Md
    just streaming. maybe someday
     
  4. mdram

    mdram SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Posts:
    3,873
    Likes Received:
    668
    Location:
    Md
  5. Jimbo

    Jimbo SatelliteGuys Master Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    Posts:
    60,401
    Likes Received:
    2,536
    Location:
    NW Ohio - Buckeye Country
    whitewolf8214 likes this.
  6. HoTat2

    HoTat2 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Posts:
    1,039
    Likes Received:
    262
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA.
    But that's the strange paradox to all these installation and troubleshooting instructions for the LCC.

    There's still no indication the adapter is available to mass subscribers yet. Yet AT&T/DIRECTV is putting out these kinds of instructions and guidelines as though the LCC has been out for months already ...

    Sent from my LG-H932 using Tapatalk
     
    whitewolf8214 likes this.
  7. slice1900

    slice1900 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2015
    Posts:
    909
    Likes Received:
    355
    Location:
    IA
    It looks like it was just an employee who posted that in the forums, so there's no reason to infer that it means any change in the status of the LCC.
     
    whitewolf8214 likes this.
  8. Claude Greiner

    Claude Greiner SatelliteGuys Master Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Posts:
    12,296
    Likes Received:
    3,143
    Location:
    Detroit - The Paris of the Midwest
    Should I sell my AM21’s that I have been hoarding?
     
  9. HoTat2

    HoTat2 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Posts:
    1,039
    Likes Received:
    262
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA.
    Well I certainly wouldn't until I actually see AT&T begin to release this thing for customer distribution.

    Sure do miss the days of select customer field testing of new DIRECTV equipment though. And all those nice glossy "First Look" documents published on the forums after testing was complete. Where some of the actual field testers would then participate in the following Q&A thread on it.

    Days gone by ...

    Sent from my LG-H932 using Tapatalk
     
    whitewolf8214 likes this.
  10. whitewolf8214

    whitewolf8214 SatelliteGuys Master Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    Posts:
    40,208
    Likes Received:
    760
    Location:
    Space
    I wonder sNe thing did they open it to more cities hopefully they did go everyone but wishful thinking on my part :biggrin
     
  11. slice1900

    slice1900 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2015
    Posts:
    909
    Likes Received:
    355
    Location:
    IA
    Once the LCC is released, the value of AM21s will crater - going to practically zero if the LCC works with H2x/HR2x. If you aren't using an AM21 now, I'd sell it. The market value isn't going any higher at this point.
     
  12. JohnL

    JohnL Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Posts:
    1,374
    Likes Received:
    57
    Location:
    Spencerport, NY
    I'm wondering if the LLC has to use that Included POS indoor Antenna or if you can connect your own OTA antenna. I already have a AM21 and a Attic mounted OTA antenna. My biggest problem is the outdated Channel list which ignores at least 5 local Sub-channels for (Rochester NY), one being a Local Channel's 24/7 Weather.

    I use the AM21 work around to get some channels listed by inputting another Local Markets Zip code with DirecTV listed Sub-channels, which is a problem. The biggest being Guide listings that are totally wrong, as well as I can't even set a manual Timer as once the PSIP OTA Guide data is different than the DirecTV guide information the channel won't record.
     
  13. raoul5788

    raoul5788 Studebaker driver Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU! Supporting Founder Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Posts:
    27,771
    Likes Received:
    11,065
    Location:
    Cheshire CT
    It should work with any antenna.
     
  14. HoTat2

    HoTat2 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Posts:
    1,039
    Likes Received:
    262
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA.
    DrdeDe daww wwww

    Sent from my LG-H932 using Tapatalk
     
  15. HoTat2

    HoTat2 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Posts:
    1,039
    Likes Received:
    262
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA.
    AqE adsEEEE

    Sent from my LG-H932 using Tapatalk
     
  16. slice1900

    slice1900 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2015
    Posts:
    909
    Likes Received:
    355
    Location:
    IA
    Obviously any antenna will work... I just hope there's a way to order it without that (even if you don't save any money) Otherwise there are going to be a lot of antennas needlessly filling landfills for people who already have their own.
     
  17. ejb1980

    ejb1980 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Posts:
    3,179
    Likes Received:
    476
    Location:
    Vermont
    They are actively working at updating the database. Over the past few months, they have randomly updated the database for many markets across the country. They have many more to do, but they are working on it. It's hard to believe, but it's true!
     
  18. Thelucky1

    Thelucky1 SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Posts:
    61
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Great state of Texas
    Are they really updating databases at random or possibly market size or alphabetical?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
     
  19. schneid

    schneid SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Posts:
    728
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    In the Wind
    NO. Have you checked their prices on ebay? The new dongle may change that though. Anyway, I pulled mine out of the closet, plugged it in, and it work again.
     
  20. ejb1980

    ejb1980 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Posts:
    3,179
    Likes Received:
    476
    Location:
    Vermont
    Other than including the markets for the AT&T HQ and that the LCC is doing the testing, it appears to be random, according to those who do the analysis and know much more than me. Here is the list of markets that have been updated, from the CE site:
    3 - Albany-Schenectady-Troy NY
    10 - Atlanta GA
    12 - Austin TX
    21 - Binghamton NY
    35 - Charlotte NC
    36 - Charlottesville VA
    39 - Chicago IL
    51 - Dallas-Ft Worth TX
    53 - Dayton OH
    56 - Detroit MI
    63 - Eureka CA
    69 - Fort Myers-Naples FL
    73 - Gainesville FL
    90 - Houston TX
    92 - Idaho Falls-Pocatello ID
    106 - Lansing MI
    108 - Las Vegas NV
    113 - Los Angeles CA
    120 - Medford-Klamath Falls OR
    124 - Milwaukee WI
    125 - Minneapolis-St Paul MN
    134 - New York NY
    140 - Orlando-Daytona FL
    153 - Providence RI-New Bedford MA
    162 - Rockford IL
    165 - Salt Lake City UT
    168 - San Diego CA
    174 - Shreveport LA
    177 - South Bend-Elkhart IN
    178 - Spokane WA
    183 - Syracuse NY
    186 - Terre Haute IN
    188 - Topeka KS
    208 - Yakima-Pasco-Richland WA
    210 - Yuma AZ
    4 - Albuquerque-Santa Fe NM
    115 - Lubbock TX
    147 - Philadelphia PA
    148 - Phoenix AZ
    174 - Shreveport LA
    185 - Tampa-St Petersburg FL
    199 - Washington DC - Hagerstown MD

    The numbers next to the DMA are not the market size, but the market number which is a Directv thing, assigned alphabetically.
     
    whitewolf8214 likes this.

Separate names with a comma.

More...