New OTA adapter

Discussion in 'DIRECTV Support Forum' started by rad, Aug 16, 2018.

  1. slice1900

    slice1900 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2015
    Posts:
    898
    Likes Received:
    352
    Location:
    IA
    You can't accuse companies of poor service for not offering you a product they don't offer.
     
    Jimbo and raoul5788 like this.
  2. rad

    rad Topic Starter Supporting Founder Supporting Founder Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    9,120
    Likes Received:
    2,020
    Location:
    Dripping Springs, TX
    You can accuse them for poor service when you spend 1.5 hours on a phone call talking to people that can't find information that someone on the internet can find on the AT&T customer site.
     
    whitewolf8214 and HoTat2 like this.
  3. HoTat2

    HoTat2 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Posts:
    1,032
    Likes Received:
    261
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA.
    Yeah ...

    That's just what I was about to post.

    It's not really the fact that the new LCC is not available for nationwide release yet. That's just life, and we understand all that ...

    But the total ignorance of the great majority of the CSRs to have no clue as to what you're talking about or what it basically does. To where you can actually waste 1-1/2 to 2 hrs. until someone finally comes along with knowledge about of it, but only to tell you it's not available.

    And even then, still not to understand that merely adding an OTA antenna to the TV does not allow DVR'ing nor an integrated channel guide.

    Sent from my LG-H932 using Tapatalk
     
    whitewolf8214 likes this.
  4. slice1900

    slice1900 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2015
    Posts:
    898
    Likes Received:
    352
    Location:
    IA
    AT&T isn't going to train all their CSRs on stuff that's only available in a couple markets. They aren't hiring the best and brightest for these roles, they are hiring whoever they can get for too little pay. Which is like 95% of company call centers.
     
    whitewolf8214 and AZ. like this.
  5. rad

    rad Topic Starter Supporting Founder Supporting Founder Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    9,120
    Likes Received:
    2,020
    Location:
    Dripping Springs, TX
    So a CSR does not have the ability to do a search on their computers for LCC or local channel connector, or over the air adapter, etc? Yes I don’t expect a CSR to have memorized all aspects of the business, but they should have the tools or knowledge on how to search for an answer to a customers question in a timely manner.
     
    whitewolf8214 likes this.
  6. raoul5788

    raoul5788 Studebaker driver Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU! Supporting Founder Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Posts:
    27,765
    Likes Received:
    11,061
    Location:
    Cheshire CT
    The front entry csr works off of a menu. If the answer isn't there, I doubt there is anywhere to look.
     
    whitewolf8214 likes this.
  7. rad

    rad Topic Starter Supporting Founder Supporting Founder Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    9,120
    Likes Received:
    2,020
    Location:
    Dripping Springs, TX
    Then they shouldn’t waste their and your time and transfer you up to the next level of CSR.
     
    whitewolf8214 likes this.
  8. raoul5788

    raoul5788 Studebaker driver Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU! Supporting Founder Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Posts:
    27,765
    Likes Received:
    11,061
    Location:
    Cheshire CT
    Yes they should.
     
    whitewolf8214 likes this.
  9. texasbrit

    texasbrit SatelliteGuys Pro Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Posts:
    3,565
    Likes Received:
    327
    You can't get something that is not available. We've posted about this many times.
     
  10. Claude Greiner

    Claude Greiner SatelliteGuys Master Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Posts:
    12,278
    Likes Received:
    3,138
    Location:
    Detroit - The Paris of the Midwest
    Anyone in Utah want to order one and sell it to me for $50 more than they paid Directv for it?

    I’m serious!
     
  11. Jimbo

    Jimbo SatelliteGuys Master Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    Posts:
    60,387
    Likes Received:
    2,531
    Location:
    NW Ohio - Buckeye Country
    1st, is there anyone in Utah here ?
     
    whitewolf8214 likes this.
  12. slice1900

    slice1900 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2015
    Posts:
    898
    Likes Received:
    352
    Location:
    IA
    I actually know someone who lives in the Las Vegas DMA who has Directv. I'd ask her to try to order an LCC for me but doing that would mean subjecting her to talking to the CSRs unnecessarily and I'd like to remain friends! ;)
     
  13. William1

    William1 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Posts:
    164
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Central Virginia
    My 'reading between the lines' regarding the LCC is it will be a free item when it is (if it is) rolled out to everyone.

    It is a poor design though, requiring both the antenna and the dongle to be separately powered by individual wall warts. I do not know why they could not of just drawn power from the USB port to power the dongle and the antenna.
     
    whitewolf8214 likes this.
  14. slice1900

    slice1900 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2015
    Posts:
    898
    Likes Received:
    352
    Location:
    IA
    A USB port is only required to provide 2.5 watts, which may not be enough to power the dongle let alone both. You wouldn't need to use the crappy antenna they ship, and on an indoor antenna an amplifier is more likely to hurt than help.
     
    whitewolf8214 and Jimbo like this.
  15. ejb1980

    ejb1980 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Posts:
    3,178
    Likes Received:
    476
    Location:
    Vermont
    I don't see the big deal - my current AM21 plugs in separately and the antenna's amp is plugged in outside. Same as the LCC would be, no?
     
    whitewolf8214 likes this.
  16. texasbrit

    texasbrit SatelliteGuys Pro Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Posts:
    3,565
    Likes Received:
    327
    USB won't provide enough power.
    Although haven't seen it yet chances are the antenna is a waste of time for most people. Unless you are near the transmitter, you will need a decent outdoor antenna.
     
    whitewolf8214 likes this.
  17. CSM

    CSM SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2015
    Posts:
    770
    Likes Received:
    156
    Location:
    Chesterfield, MO
    I guess the USB TV tuner requires more power than using the TV's USB port for TV antenna's amplifier? In the manual of the TV antenna's that have an amplifier they say you can use the TV's USB port to power it.
     
    #117 CSM, Dec 20, 2018
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2018
    whitewolf8214 likes this.
  18. slice1900

    slice1900 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2015
    Posts:
    898
    Likes Received:
    352
    Location:
    IA
    Just because they ship an adapter for the antenna doesn't mean it wouldn't work off a USB port. Heck, maybe the OTA adapter would work off a USB port but they didn't design it that way for other reasons - maybe some of their STBs don't have enough headroom in the power supply and they don't want to risk the draw of the LCC causing problems with a Genie. After all, they didn't design ANY of their STBs with powering a USB device in mind...
     
    whitewolf8214 likes this.
  19. Badger 04

    Badger 04 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sun Prairie WI
    I have an AM21 and for the fun it updated my over the air channels and to my amazement my guide updated with everything from my antenna.
     
    whitewolf8214 and raoul5788 like this.
  20. ejb1980

    ejb1980 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Posts:
    3,178
    Likes Received:
    476
    Location:
    Vermont
    It's been doing that for a little over a month now.
     

Separate names with a comma.

More...