New To DirectTV Should I use there OTA antenna?

Status
Please reply by conversation.

joseph.solari

Active SatelliteGuys Member
Original poster
Jun 21, 2007
Hey everyone, I am new to Direct TV, recently switch from dish network after about 15 issues over a month.

I was wondering what everyone thought of Direct TVs OTA Antenna. The one that they attatch to the dish. I do not know which model number and I am having it installed on Fri Afternoon. I called they did not have anymore information other than it is an OTA Antenna. I did not order one but they promised me the installer would bring one so that I could decide then.

So what does everyone think of Direct TVs OTA antenna's??

Hey everyone, I am new to Direct TV, recently switch from dish network after about 15 issues over a month.

I was wondering what everyone thought of Direct TVs OTA Antenna. The one that they attatch to the dish. I do not know which model number and I am having it installed on Fri Afternoon. I called they did not have anymore information other than it is an OTA Antenna. I did not order one but they promised me the installer would bring one so that I could decide then.

Pretty much useless, unless your OTA channel towers happy to be exactly in the same direction. (provided your trying to get HD signals)

I would recommend an OTA outside antenna with a rotor.
If you have one already on the house (like the old uhf/vhf antenna's) they will still work great.

IF you are looking to get an antenna, check to see what direction your towers are in so you know what direction the antenna needs to point.

Check this site : AntennaWeb

Jimbo

:welcome

OTA questions are hard to answer because it depends on your location and clear site to the towers. The low end antennas that Directv install might just be fine if you are 5-10 miles from the towers. At least have them install it for free so you can get the line and dish. Make sure you get the Slimline 5 LNB dish installed.